Slow Cooker Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Maybe I made this wrong, but it was too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This was excellent - usually I'm not a big fan of corn chowder but DH really likes it so I tried it and everyone really liked this! I only made one change, like many I added a can of creamed corn in addition to the other can of corn - we'll have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Delicious! I used less potoatoes as we are trying to reduce our carbs and increased the corn. The milk at the end was a great feature to add creaminess to the chowder. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Excellent. Only made minimal changes; first I did add a can of creamed corn to more creamy corn flavor. I was hesitant to add all the water called for b/c of other reviews, but I did add enough to cover slightly and ended up adding a bit more since there was so much stuff in the crock, it really needed the liquid to be a soup instead of ham and veggies floating in a teeny bit of water! Also added just a bit of garlic but other than that wonderful flavor, I don't think it was bland at all (making sure you have adequate chicken boullion, salt and pepper) it tasted exactly what I was hoping a corn chowder would taste like, corny and creamy! I also did add diced carrots with the celery, I thought they were on there but when I went to make it apparently there are no carrots called for. Added barely a t of cornstarch, maybe 1/2 t, before done just to make sure it was nice and creamy, not overly thick. I will definately make this again and again! Was a breeze to throw in the crock in the morning and have a great hearty chowder when I came home. Also did not peel potatoes, completely unneccessary and a waste of time I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Schoolcraft, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This was delish! I used Chicken Broth instead of water I used 1 can corn and 1 can creamed corn. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Maybe I'm an idiot, but I've made this recipe twice and failed both times! The first time was my fault, I didn't read the directions carefully enough and added the evaporated milk at the beginning. But the second time I followed it perfectly and it tasted really watered down. Well it really had no flavor. I'm not giving this a third try. I'll just try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JosShavaughn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Just ok. A littel bland. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This is was awesome slthought I made some changes. first I stir fried the onions in a stick of butter, then I added about 3 tablespoons of crumbled bacon to the stir fry, then added the potattoes about 2 mins later, stired and covered to cook for about 3 mins, then I transfered all to slow cooker. I then added a can of corn kernne and a can of creamy corn. I used c hicken brothe instead of water. The results was absolutely amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bedford Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
loved it but didnt exactly follow the recipie. i used two cans of cream corn, red potoatos and mashed them half way through also added a cup of cheeder cheese for the last half hr, and shreded chicken in to instead of ham. It was a great halloween meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinkathleen332

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This was good. I took the advice of others and used 1 can of whole kernel corn and 1 can of cream-style corn. I also waited until there was only 2 hrs of cooking time left to add the ham and it wasn't rubbery at all. Overall a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States