Slow Cooker Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This was my first time making corn chowder. It was delicious! Great recipe! Here were my changes: I used a slice of bacon, not ham. I added cubed chicken as the meat. I used 2 cans of chicken broth, covered the veggies in water, and used 2 chicken bouillon cubes. To season, I used paprika, a little sage, a little hot sauce, mustard powder, salt, and pepper. I will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missuscurlz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Acworth, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lancaster, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
as many others mentioned, you need to SERIOUSLY doctor this to make it good and i wish i had done that. If you make as listed it is not creamy and lacks flavor. Adding flavor after cooking as directed didnt help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
awful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Douglassville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Easy and quick recipe. We were overall happy with that. We will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Great recipe...just tweaked it a little. I left the skins on the potatoes, used bacon instead of ham, 1 can creamed corn and 1 bag frozen corn, and instead of the bouillon and evaporated milk I used 1 can chicken broth and a little starch (without the starch it was too soupy). Would def. make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This is a great, quick chowder recipe. I'm not sure why some of the reviews are claiming this to be more like soup than chowder, but it may have something to do with adding water. The recipe calls for chicken boullion cubes, but does not say to dilute in water. Nor does this recipe call for chicken broth. The liquid from the corn and the can of milk are all you need to turn these ingredients into a deliciously thick corn chowder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
A little to watery for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This soup was a bit watery for my taste. I could have thickened it up with a flour/milk mixture but I didnt want to take away from the original recipe too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
These are awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I had to make a few revisions to this recipe, and that is why I rated it 4 stars instead of 5. I used a bag of frozen corn instead of canned (all I had). From the beginning, I could tell that this would be more of a soup than a chowder, so I did add a cornstarch/water slurry and used an immersion blender for half of the soup at the end. This helped it thicken. I think that next time, I'll use even less broth for cooking. I added marjoram, basil and oregano to season. Very filling - and I'll make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARRAHS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States