Slow Cooker Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Love it! My husband and I ate all of the leftovers. I can't wait to tinker with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This was a great soup to come home to after a long day of work. I did modify it a bit, to make it vegetarian. Left out the ham, and used veggie bouillon instead of chicken for my kids sake. Sprinkled a little cheese on it when serving and we were all pretty impressed. (although hubby and I both agree it would've been better with the meat)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I really enjoy this recipe! I am just learning to cook and so I chose this recipe because it has simple ingredients, and little work. What I also like about this recipe is that it is easy to add or remove items to your tastes. I typically make it with bacon as this is what I have on hand. I also find that adding a second can of cream corn is good, especially if you don't have or don't want to use the milk. Very yummy! Smells and tastes excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
this was ok not anything special. I have never had corn chowder so I dont really have anything to judge the taste by. We love corn and especially creammed corn. I think maybe t would be better if it was made with creammed corn instead of whole kernel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne Bartlett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Swannanoa, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This was very watery and bland. I added TWO cans of creamed corn and 1 can of water and it was still watery. I tried to thicken it up with some flour, but it didn't really help. You could barely taste the corn. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 31Mommy.of.4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
We loved this! I just added about a 1/3 cup flour lightly sprinkling and stirring in the last hour when it seemed too watery. I also substituted with bacon. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baketilheartscontent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Was in the mood for corn chowder & this looked like a good place to start. Here are the changes I made: Made 6 slices of bacon (reserved it for the top); Used a little of the bacon grease to saute the onions; Added some carrots; Added some crushed red pepper; Added can of cream corn; Omitted the ham; Used one vegetable bullion & one chicken bullion (ran out of chicken). Next time I think I will drain the corn and add a little of instant mashed potatoes if it is thick at the end. I served it with bacon, cheese & osyter crackers. My kids loved it! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamatika

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Very good - husband and 5-year-old both ate three bowls of it. My changes - from reading comments: added a can of creamed corn, added some dried sage, did not use water/bouillon to cover - instead used 1 cup of chicken broth, made it without ham - added a little crumbled bacon and shredded cheese when serving, added a .5 tsp of corn starch when added can of evap milk. Great consistency. Hardest part was chopping the potatoes, which I left the skin on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I used 7 potatoes since mine seemed on the small side, only one onion, 2 tsp. Better than Bouillon instead of the chicken bouillon cubes, along with all the other ingredients called for except the ham. I covered with 2 cups water and cooked on HIGH for 3 hours. Then I added the ham for another hour. Before adding the evaporated milk, I removed 1 cup broth. At the end I mashed just a few of the potatoes. I added a little salt and white pepper. We enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Good, but not great. We served it in bread bowls which was fun and added some needed thickness to the broth. I used chicken broth rather than water, and omitted the celery, but otherwise followed the recipe. My family liked it better than I did, but I don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMY BIRKNER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States