Slow Cooker Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This is perhaps the best soup I have ever made. I used huge red potatoes (left skins on), cut back on the celery, and used two ears of fresh corn on the cob. I thickened a little of the room-temperature evaporated milk with some cornstarch = perfectly thickened in a short amount of time. People, don't be afraid if you have to thicken something .... it is so easy to do!!! I cannot wait to serve this at dinner to see husband's reaction. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I just wish this were a little creamier. I too thickened it with some corn starch, omitted the water, nixed the ham and used some garlic powder because I was in a hurry. I only added one onion, and I'm glad I did because when I came home my house smelled of it! I puréed a little bit of to to get the chowder consistency as well. I also used 2 cans of sweet corn and 1 cream corn. :) yum.....!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Squirrly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
My family loves this. I don't even add the milk. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
It was devoured like it was the last available meal on earth. Use creamed corn, and double the amount. I used chicken instead of ham, but I'm sure either is delicious. Tweak to your taste, of course, but even as is, this recipe is a monster hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I made this recipe the other night and had company over. It was a great success! The men were licking their bowls! I made it on high for 6 hours, and didn't use quite as much onion. It was delicious and I will absolutely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I love this recipe! It was so yummy. I drained my corn before adding it because there was plenty of liquid without it. I did add some oregano, basil and marjoram. Two thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Pretty good. Needs more corn and less potatoes. Less water and more milk. Made us pee a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I agree with many others that this is a good starting place for corn chowder. I used 2 lbs of uncooked, cubed chicken instead of ham, and left out the bouillon. Following the advice of many other reviewers, I just added a cup and a half of water, instead of covering the veggies, and then used 2 cups of heavy cream and 3 Tbsp corn starch after it had cooked for 8 hours. It is AMAZING with sourdough bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joderita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Wonderful chowder. So simple to make and the taste was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jay Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beech Grove, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Kure Beach, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Love it! My husband and I ate all of the leftovers. I can't wait to tinker with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States