Slow Cooker Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I just wish this were a little creamier. I too thickened it with some corn starch, omitted the water, nixed the ham and used some garlic powder because I was in a hurry. I only added one onion, and I'm glad I did because when I came home my house smelled of it! I puréed a little bit of to to get the chowder consistency as well. I also used 2 cans of sweet corn and 1 cream corn. :) yum.....!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Squirrly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
My family loves this. I don't even add the milk. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
It was devoured like it was the last available meal on earth. Use creamed corn, and double the amount. I used chicken instead of ham, but I'm sure either is delicious. Tweak to your taste, of course, but even as is, this recipe is a monster hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I made this recipe the other night and had company over. It was a great success! The men were licking their bowls! I made it on high for 6 hours, and didn't use quite as much onion. It was delicious and I will absolutely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I love this recipe! It was so yummy. I drained my corn before adding it because there was plenty of liquid without it. I did add some oregano, basil and marjoram. Two thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Pretty good. Needs more corn and less potatoes. Less water and more milk. Made us pee a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I agree with many others that this is a good starting place for corn chowder. I used 2 lbs of uncooked, cubed chicken instead of ham, and left out the bouillon. Following the advice of many other reviewers, I just added a cup and a half of water, instead of covering the veggies, and then used 2 cups of heavy cream and 3 Tbsp corn starch after it had cooked for 8 hours. It is AMAZING with sourdough bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joderita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Wonderful chowder. So simple to make and the taste was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jay Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beech Grove, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Kure Beach, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Love it! My husband and I ate all of the leftovers. I can't wait to tinker with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This was a great soup to come home to after a long day of work. I did modify it a bit, to make it vegetarian. Left out the ham, and used veggie bouillon instead of chicken for my kids sake. Sprinkled a little cheese on it when serving and we were all pretty impressed. (although hubby and I both agree it would've been better with the meat)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States