Slow Cooker Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This was the best corn chowder I ever made! Easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Easy and filling. I added carrots and some extra potatoes. Also used skim milk instead of evaporated and added a bit of cheddar cheese at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie N Matt Thomas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Made this for some friends and it was a hit....I added red pepper flakes as other reviews said it was bland and I also added a can of south western type corn. Lots of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Thanks to all the helpful reviews, this corn chowder turned out wonderful! Used 1 can chicken broth in place of the bouillon cubes & water, added 1 can creamed corn, added 1 clove minced garlic, added 2 carrots diced. I waited to add the ham until there was 3 hours left in cooking time so that it wouldn't' turn "rubbery" & that worked out great. After adding the evaporated milk & allowing the 30 min additional cooking time, it was still a little too liquidy to be a chowder, so I added a corn starch slurry which thickened it up nicely! It tasted good, but I felt it needed a little something, so I threw in a dash of rubbed sage & a dash of marjoram -- PERFECT!! This was SO delicious! Served w/ biscuits & we are looking forward to leftovers. Thanks for the good starter recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
we did not like this recipe. it was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Chenoweth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
so good! made with frozed corn and cut back on the amount of evaporated milk used chicken broth and added cubed sweet potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This was okay. I didn't think it had a lot of taste. I added carrot and bacon and it still was rather bland. One thing to note: Make sure the potatoes and any other veggies you add are completely cooked before adding the evaporated milk. I tested a couple of pieces of my potatoes and they seemed done, but when I served it, there were still some pieces that were a little crunchy. So, I turned the heat back on low for a couple of hours. When I looked at it again, the evaporated milk had burned and formed a brown skin over the top of the chowder. I ended up tossing the leftovers because of this. I will probably not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I used a smoked ham and it added great flavor!! It is my standby when it is really cold out and we need a hot dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
It was okay, although like most users, I made a good amount of changes. I did NOT extra water after pouring in the chicken stock, but I DID add in more vegetables, including a second can of cream-style corn and a lot more potatoes and carrots. I also added some spices, like sage, oregano, and basil. I used half & half to thicken it up the first time I made this; since then, I have used heavy cream. I served it with cheese. Really good and hearty, if you make a few alterations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I made this for my friends and i to have when we got home from a halloween party. It was a big hit. Everyone enjoyed it. I did add a little corn starch to thinken it up. But i thought the recipe was great as is. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by helzbelz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States