Slow Cooker Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This is the easiest and most delicious quiche I have made. What to do when you run out of flour...replace with corn meal. It is then even more delish. Frummie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
delicious ! i used the extra corn other reviewers suggested but i also switched heavy whipping cream for the can of evaporated milk and used a corn starch slurry to thicken it a bit and used a bag of frozen crinkle cut carrots for color. all the members of my family loved it!! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
What a wonderful chowder! I followed others' advice and added a second can of corn. Also, before adding the evaporated milk, I gave it few zaps with the upright mixer to give it a little thicker consistancy. Thanks for the recipe DonaldB.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Could use a teensy bit more flavor but definitely delicious. Halved the recipe to fit in my tiny slowcooker and used chicken instead of ham since that's what this Lancaster County native is used to in her corn chowder. Pretty delicious, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I took the advice of some of the other reviews. I left out the water, and ham. I also chose to use less onion. I added fresh chopped carrots, used new potatoes, chicken broth, thyme, marojoram, oregano, 2 % milk instead of evaporated milk, and added cornstartch to thicken (about 2 1/2 tablespoons). For an added kick I also added cayenne pepper. The chowder tastes amazing! I will use it again :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
This was pretty tasty. I left out the onion and celery (for personal tatse) and substituted celery salt and minced onion for those. Everyone liked it, but no one raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evetsangel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Thanks for the great base recipe! My whole family LOVED it! I did make a few changes... I added more celery and used at least 3 cups of frozen corn. I processed about 2 cups of corn before adding to give it a more creamy texture. I melted the margarine and mixed it with 3-4 TBSP of flour to help thicken as well. As others suggested, I added the ham near the end. It turned out great and I would definitely make this easy recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2eat
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
We liked this....it was simple to throw together and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by llglass

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
SO yummy! I had never had chowder with ham in it, and had not tried it in a slow cooker. SO GOOD! I followed another reviewer, as I like more corn, and want it thick. So I did one can or corn, and two of cream corn. One can of chicken broth, and no water. I didn't do celery, but that is because we really aren't fans of celery. Just a good comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellsworth, Maine, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Great recipe. Made some adjustment from reading others recommendations. Used Chicken stock instead of water to cover potatoes. Added cooked bacon instead of ham and used heavy cream instead of evap. milk. Used 2 cans of sweet corn and 1 can of cream corn. I also added a tablespoon of diluted cornstarch in water to thicken. Did't need to add any salt at all. In fact I will use only 1 chicken bullion next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States