Slow Cooker Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Maybe I'm an idiot, but I've made this recipe twice and failed both times! The first time was my fault, I didn't read the directions carefully enough and added the evaporated milk at the beginning. But the second time I followed it perfectly and it tasted really watered down. Well it really had no flavor. I'm not giving this a third try. I'll just try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JosShavaughn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Just ok. A littel bland. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This is was awesome slthought I made some changes. first I stir fried the onions in a stick of butter, then I added about 3 tablespoons of crumbled bacon to the stir fry, then added the potattoes about 2 mins later, stired and covered to cook for about 3 mins, then I transfered all to slow cooker. I then added a can of corn kernne and a can of creamy corn. I used c hicken brothe instead of water. The results was absolutely amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bedford Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
loved it but didnt exactly follow the recipie. i used two cans of cream corn, red potoatos and mashed them half way through also added a cup of cheeder cheese for the last half hr, and shreded chicken in to instead of ham. It was a great halloween meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinkathleen332

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This was good. I took the advice of others and used 1 can of whole kernel corn and 1 can of cream-style corn. I also waited until there was only 2 hrs of cooking time left to add the ham and it wasn't rubbery at all. Overall a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This is the easiest and most delicious quiche I have made. What to do when you run out of flour...replace with corn meal. It is then even more delish. Frummie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
delicious ! i used the extra corn other reviewers suggested but i also switched heavy whipping cream for the can of evaporated milk and used a corn starch slurry to thicken it a bit and used a bag of frozen crinkle cut carrots for color. all the members of my family loved it!! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
What a wonderful chowder! I followed others' advice and added a second can of corn. Also, before adding the evaporated milk, I gave it few zaps with the upright mixer to give it a little thicker consistancy. Thanks for the recipe DonaldB.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Could use a teensy bit more flavor but definitely delicious. Halved the recipe to fit in my tiny slowcooker and used chicken instead of ham since that's what this Lancaster County native is used to in her corn chowder. Pretty delicious, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I took the advice of some of the other reviews. I left out the water, and ham. I also chose to use less onion. I added fresh chopped carrots, used new potatoes, chicken broth, thyme, marojoram, oregano, 2 % milk instead of evaporated milk, and added cornstartch to thicken (about 2 1/2 tablespoons). For an added kick I also added cayenne pepper. The chowder tastes amazing! I will use it again :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States