Slow Cooker Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This soup was a bit watery for my taste. I could have thickened it up with a flour/milk mixture but I didnt want to take away from the original recipe too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
These are awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I had to make a few revisions to this recipe, and that is why I rated it 4 stars instead of 5. I used a bag of frozen corn instead of canned (all I had). From the beginning, I could tell that this would be more of a soup than a chowder, so I did add a cornstarch/water slurry and used an immersion blender for half of the soup at the end. This helped it thicken. I think that next time, I'll use even less broth for cooking. I added marjoram, basil and oregano to season. Very filling - and I'll make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARRAHS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Yummy, I did add roasted red pepper and it was very good! I've made it a few times now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANSEAB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Fabulous recipe!! My husband loved it!!!!!!!! I will definitly use this recipe more often now! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Easy, delicious and destined for the "family favorite" list! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Proctorsville, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Loved this recipe, did not add the milk, even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This was a great recipe to use for a guidline. I did everything the recipe said, but only one onion which was more than enough. I also added: carrot,extra can of corn cream style,touch of garlic, and sage. Also I only cooked for 5 hrs on high. Also I used only chicken broth instead of water and bouillon. I would add slightly less liquid next time as this turned out to be more soupy than chowdery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Made this for a large group and everyone loved it. I so appreciated all the reviews and included some of the suggestions when I made it, like adding a can of creamed corn and not putting the ham in till about 2-3 hours before it was done. As it was getting closer to the end I also tried to mash the potatoes a bit with a potato masher just to make the chowder a bit less chunky. Overall this was a big hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I would make this again. I added a can of creamed corn as well as garlic and dried basil. I also added 1/2 pound of Velveeta cheese during the last 30 minutes of cooking. I added the can of milk in the beginning had no issues in the end. My kids liked it, that says a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States