Slow Cooker Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Very good - husband and 5-year-old both ate three bowls of it. My changes - from reading comments: added a can of creamed corn, added some dried sage, did not use water/bouillon to cover - instead used 1 cup of chicken broth, made it without ham - added a little crumbled bacon and shredded cheese when serving, added a .5 tsp of corn starch when added can of evap milk. Great consistency. Hardest part was chopping the potatoes, which I left the skin on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I used 7 potatoes since mine seemed on the small side, only one onion, 2 tsp. Better than Bouillon instead of the chicken bouillon cubes, along with all the other ingredients called for except the ham. I covered with 2 cups water and cooked on HIGH for 3 hours. Then I added the ham for another hour. Before adding the evaporated milk, I removed 1 cup broth. At the end I mashed just a few of the potatoes. I added a little salt and white pepper. We enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Good, but not great. We served it in bread bowls which was fun and added some needed thickness to the broth. I used chicken broth rather than water, and omitted the celery, but otherwise followed the recipe. My family liked it better than I did, but I don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMY BIRKNER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This was my first time making corn chowder. It was delicious! Great recipe! Here were my changes: I used a slice of bacon, not ham. I added cubed chicken as the meat. I used 2 cans of chicken broth, covered the veggies in water, and used 2 chicken bouillon cubes. To season, I used paprika, a little sage, a little hot sauce, mustard powder, salt, and pepper. I will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missuscurlz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Acworth, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lancaster, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
as many others mentioned, you need to SERIOUSLY doctor this to make it good and i wish i had done that. If you make as listed it is not creamy and lacks flavor. Adding flavor after cooking as directed didnt help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
awful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Douglassville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Easy and quick recipe. We were overall happy with that. We will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Great recipe...just tweaked it a little. I left the skins on the potatoes, used bacon instead of ham, 1 can creamed corn and 1 bag frozen corn, and instead of the bouillon and evaporated milk I used 1 can chicken broth and a little starch (without the starch it was too soupy). Would def. make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This is a great, quick chowder recipe. I'm not sure why some of the reviews are claiming this to be more like soup than chowder, but it may have something to do with adding water. The recipe calls for chicken boullion cubes, but does not say to dilute in water. Nor does this recipe call for chicken broth. The liquid from the corn and the can of milk are all you need to turn these ingredients into a deliciously thick corn chowder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
A little to watery for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States