Slow Cooker Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I made the changes suggested (added another can of regular corn, and a can of cream corn) and it was wonderful! I love having crock pot recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JANE MN
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
4 stars because I made some modifications to the posted recipe after reading other reviews. 5 stars with my modifications... I added an extra can of corn plus a can of creamed corn. I substituted 12 oz chicken broth for the water, and used a pint of half and half (plus some corn starch) instead of the evaporated milk. It was sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANE MN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Tried this on New Years Day of this year. Family and friends RAVED over it and it WAS really good. Nothing left but the aroma.... :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Whitford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bath, New York, USA
Living In: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Definitely good- I used some suggestions from others and it turned out great. I'm glad I doubled the recipe for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
I thought this was delicious! Next time I will use another tin of corn, though, and proper evaporated milk (didn't have any so used fresh milk).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
To be honest, I rarely follow a recipe to the letter unless I am baking, but I did use this one as the starting point for my potato-corn chowder and thought I'd share my modifications because it turned out great! First, I used russet potatoes, but left the skins on for the extra nutrients and rustic feel. I also added some chopped carrots and a couple of cloves of garlic, and used a whole bag of frozen corn. I used chicken stock rather than water and did not cover the vegetables. For spices, I added a good dose of kosher salt and black pepper, some ground sage, and a little crushed red pepper for a little kick. After the 8 or so hours of cooking, I ladled about 3 cups of the stock out of the crock pot, made a roux, added the stock to it along with the condensed milk, let it thicken for about 4 or 5 minutes and then added it back to the crock pot and let it cook for another 30 minutes. It was delightful! Perfect for the snowy day we're having!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
My family loved this recipe! Great for a cold winters night like tonight. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I thought this was veeery good. The butter gave it a chowdery flavor.It does make a lot but my hubby and I love leftovers. Did not have ham, so I cooked a chicken and threw that in. Also, I used frozen corn a lots of it. I also thickend the soup a little, it turned out great, good meal for a cold day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyHubbysWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mexicali, Baja California, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
I thought this was great. Added 4 oz of mushrooms that were going off, and thickened the soup with a cornstarch slurry. I agree with the extra can of corn suggestion. Really an easy and enjoyable soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Awesome recipe! It is a great dish to feed a crowd, accompanied with sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenna4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States