Slow Cooker Coq Au Vin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Cooking time was way off. Next time I would bake it in the oven. Funny color with red wine + mushroom soup. (It became brown with a tad of Kitchen Bouquet.) I took one reviewer's suggestion and thickened the sauce "later". I served it over rice. Nice gravy. Oh yes, I added sliced fresh garlic, about 2 cloves. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I tried this and it had no flavor, really. Then I tried jazzing it up with Worcestershire sauce, which didn't help all that much. Maybe this would be nice in a butter lined bread bowl, or for an elderly person who likes food without much flavor, but otherwise, I won't be repeating the experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Definitely tasted nothing like real Coq Au Vin. It ended up tasting like chicken in a brown sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
workable, straight forward recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greg h

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I've had real Coq Au Vin made by a French woman and this was definitely not the same. However, it was still really good! It makes a rich gravy and the chicken was so tender. I used chicken thighs and didn't even cut the fat off of them. Wonderful with mashed potatoes. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jondra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I waited until the last minute to look for something for dinner. I thought this could be easily adaptable to the skillet as I just didn't have time to throw everything in the crockpot. I used fresh sliced onion instead of frozen, pork chops (as that was what I had on hand (and it's white meat, so it's pretty interchangable when it comes to Campbell's Recipes), dried rosemary and I used half beef broth/half wine, so it wouldn't be too boozy for my kids. I dusted the chops with black pepper and rosemary and browned the chops in a little olive oil. Once they browned, I added a little more oil, then the mushrooms and onions and sauteed them before adding in the broth/wine and deglazing the pan. I then added the soup. After simmering for five minutes, I didn't need the cornstarch. It was plenty thick on it's own. I just covered the skillet and simmered for 15 minutes or so on low heat or until the chops were cooked through. I served it with rice. We all liked this, but I think it would have been better with some fresh minced garlic. I really appreciated this meal because it was easy for me to prepare on a "Mom's tired" kind of day and it used pantry ingredients which meant I could throw it together without having to make a trip to the store. And I'll tell you, my boys ate every bit of this. NO LEFTOVERS. Even the small one had seconds. That's enough of a winner for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Kids and hubby didn't like it at all. Can't say it was the recipe because they have never had real Coq a Vin before so they have nothing to compare it to...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by murphy13

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This recipe is good, but not great. I did make some changes to try to give it some more flavor. I used sliced portabello mushrooms, onion, rosemary, and I also added some cooked bacon that I had leftover. The wine and soup made a decent sauce, but I did have to also add some garlic and a little bit of salt and pepper. I used a decent merlot that I had about 1/2 a bottle left over. I also waited until about the last 30 minutes before adding the cornstarch to make it thicker, just be sure you mix the cornstarch into cold water before adding to the hot liquid. I think I will make this again, but only after making a few more changes. I do not think I would use the golden mushroom soup. I will have to see what else I can come up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Mediocre at best. This was very easy, but it wasn't all that great. I did use all organic ingredients, so the soup I used wasn't exactly right. Rather than Campbell's Condensed Golden Mushroom I used Amy's Organic Semi-Condensed Cream of Mushroom. Maybe that would have changed things enough, but I'm doubtful and I'll never know because I always cook with organics only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Batesville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States