Slow Cooker Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
This is great. I made this with frozen collard greens and skipped first step. Super flavor, not very hot even with jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mona
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This recipe is wonderful. My daughter never had any interest in collards, now - when I ask her if she has any special request for holiday meals.... Crock Pot Collards I think it's the jalepeno peppers that make the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierpont, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Very good recipe. I used smoked turkey legs and instead of boiling the meat on the stove first, I threw everything into the crockpot. I put in 2 cups of chicken broth and cooked on low for 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
For those of us who love greens year-round, the slow cooker is the perfect stove-top antidote during A/C season. These simple ingredients produced a complex, layered taste: spicy, savory, smoky. (I've used fresh garlic and jalapenos) A+ for ease of preparation and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
THIS IS THE CORRECT WAY TO COOK GREENS! EVEN WITH THE VARIANCE OF SPICES USED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
Perfect. Even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Kimmy, is the one with the right idea for these greens. WOW! These are the best greens I've made! Replacing the ham with smoked neck bones, 2 different seasonings, & adding as you go is the way. I used crushed red pepper instead of j-peppers..delicious. Making it again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I used this recipe for the slow cooker method and I used the Kickin' Greens for the actual recipe. I used bacon grease vs. olive oil and sauted the onion and garlic then added two pounds of collard greens. I used a dandoodle (VA/NC seasoned meat), water not chicken broth, and red pepper flakes. After 45 minutes on the stove, the greens were bitter so I added 1T. brown sugar and 1 T. apple cider vinegar. I transferred the greens to a slow cooker and let it sit in the fridge overnight with the dandoodle which provides the seasonings. I cooked the greens on low for 4-6 hours and kept adding brown sugar to eliminate the bitterness. Overall, I probably added 1/4 c. brown sugar and 2 T. apple cider vinegar for the 2lbs. of fresh collard greens. My BIL uses honey vs. brown sugar. Definitely a keeper! Delicious and this slow cooker method does not make the greens turn to mush but I prefer the fresh onions and garlic of the kickin' collard green recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
unbelivable good and easy. It came out perfect I was able to make it ahead of time and in the crock pot it frees up a burner on the stove for other things
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States