Slow Cooker Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
unbelivable good and easy. It came out perfect I was able to make it ahead of time and in the crock pot it frees up a burner on the stove for other things
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Kimmy, is the one with the right idea for these greens. WOW! These are the best greens I've made! Replacing the ham with smoked neck bones, 2 different seasonings, & adding as you go is the way. I used crushed red pepper instead of j-peppers..delicious. Making it again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Yummy! All I can say, simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Keri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Photo by Mona
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This recipe is wonderful. My daughter never had any interest in collards, now - when I ask her if she has any special request for holiday meals.... Crock Pot Collards I think it's the jalepeno peppers that make the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierpont, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
While the taste was still banging, it was not a good fit for me. I used vinegar instead of baking soda. I would also recommending passing up the cooking before putting into the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: Broad Brook, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
Perfect. Even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
this was a great recipe..but i made so many changes that it evolved into a recipe of my own creation. first i omitted step 1 and the baking soda. next, i put in smoked turkey necks and seasoning(old bay and tony chacherre's creole seasoning) and the greens at the same time. next i piled on the greens(i conbined collard and mustard)!! i let them cook down for an hour and then put in the extra greens that didn't fit at first. i stirred every hour or so and added seasoning to taste. i cooked for 5hrs the night before and then 3hrs the day of thanksgiving, by doing that the seasonings had asorbed really well and the greens were tender and flavorful!! hope this helps a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Yuck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swattie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Piqua, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
For those of us who love greens year-round, the slow cooker is the perfect stove-top antidote during A/C season. These simple ingredients produced a complex, layered taste: spicy, savory, smoky. (I've used fresh garlic and jalapenos) A+ for ease of preparation and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
THIS IS THE CORRECT WAY TO COOK GREENS! EVEN WITH THE VARIANCE OF SPICES USED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States