Slow Cooker Coconut Curry Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Great recipe for Chicken Curry lovers! I added one can of pineapple chunks and a trio of colored peppers, red, orange, yellow to kick up the visual appeal. I also had a can of thick coconut cream (Trader Joes)on hand so I threw in two large spoonfuls of that for extra richness but the recipe is great as is. I used skin on browned chicken thighs as that is what I had on hand and the meat just fell off the bone and was very tender. If you like a colorful dish use your food processor and mince some carrot up fine then add the last twenty minutes of cooking time. This is good served over jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia  Garreaud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Gilford, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
It won't let me give zero stars. This recipe was terrible! So bland. I had to add so many things to it to make it edible. Glad I only wasted one pound of chicken, not the two it has listed. It wouldn't have made enough sauce anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
A little bland, maybe more pepper next time, but everything turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This was decent, but nothing great. I made it exactly as written, using just over 2 pounds of chicken breasts, 2 "White Rose" potatoes, a white onion, and the chicken broth was made from a bouillon cube dissolved in a cup of boiling water. This made a lot of food - I served it over cooked brown "Texmati" rice, and it lasted for 5 meals. I prefer really hot curries, so even with 1/4 cup of curry powder here, I found the flavors slightly bland. It was good enough - just didn't wow me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
really good , i added it 1 green bell pepper , one chicken bouillon , 1 cup of coconut flakes .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
It sounded so good, and I like all of the components, but man, it was hard to eat. I followed the recipe exactly, and it turned out to taste very strongly of curry powder and nothing else. In an effort to not waste the entire dish, my husband and I sprinkled some cashews on top of our servings and that helped a lot - to make it edible - but after eating it once, I was not up for working my way through all those leftovers. I imagine that the curry powder is a big variable. There is such a range of strengths from one to the next that I wonder if the one I used was just way too powerful or something? I would recommend starting with a smaller amount of curry powder than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
This Recipe was fun and my kids loved it. I love the texture and the blend of flavors. I added more coconut flakes and raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I made this for friends who have a stay in Pakistan in their background. It tasted good, but was terribly bland. Fortunately, I made it a day ahead and had time to add at least a tablespoon of garam masala and a pinch of ground cayenne. Made it a tiny bit spicy, and gave it much more depth of flavor. Didn't use potatoes, but did add a can of garbanzos, drained.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I liked it! I would make the Coconut flakes a MUST for flavor...w/o it, it is a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
It was OK. Not really as much flavor as I would have liked. I'll try again with some modifications to see what I can do because it's not a bad base. I wish I could give it 3 1/2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States