Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Great and simple. A word of warning: Do NOT use a smokey BBQ sauce with lil smokeys. Use a sweet bbq sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
242 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thekelleys

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I have been making these for years. The only thing I do differently is mix equal parts grape jelly, BBQ sauce and ketchup. This also works just as well with cut up beef hot dogs. Adults and kids alike love these. I love them especially because they're fast, easy and can be prepared in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
227 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Philipsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I have been making these for parties for years! People can't seem to get enough of these. I always use apricot jelly but I'm sure grape works just fine too. These little things seem to be addictive no matter how you make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I have to write this!!! Why would you rate this recipe and say ..." I used chili sauce and jellied cranberry sauce." That is not t reviewing this recipe, but is a recipe on its own. Hey, I used roast beef and dry onion soup mix. Just as ridiculous! Come on, if you can't review a recipe , leave it alone. Just saying..........,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I have been making this for 15 years. My x-wife had this recipe. Funny to see it again here. Nobody believs me when I say I used grape jelly in it. I take it to pot lucks all the time and it is one of the first dishes to go. Just took it to a b day party last month and when my girlfriend saw me putting grape jelly in with the links a sause, she grosed out and said no way she would eat it, and that I ruined the links she spent all that money on. After hearing all the great revievs from party goers she decided to give it a shot. She loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pitchfork

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
u can also make this with a jar of chili sauce and a can of thanksgiving cranberry jelly. both are also good with little cocktail sized meatballs. i too agree how addictive this recipe is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
A household hit for any occaision! I use equal parts of grape jelly and BBQ sauce. I also make this with prepared meatballs from the grociery store. This is also good using both meatballs and lil smokies. Just make sure the sauce covers the meat. This gives a little more variety when making for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinaat1013

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This is in the crockpot as we speak. It's not a holiday without these wonderful little gems. I did saute a little onion and garlic in butter, then added the grape jelly and my own homemade barbeque sauce and peppered it up a bit before pouring over the Lil' Smokies. OMNOM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I was very skeptical about this recipe so I tested it first. Funny how the taste changes as it cooks. After an hour the smoky flavor from the bbq sauce was so overwhelming I thought this was a big mistake but after 2 hours the smokiness was slight and balanced and delicious. I couldn’t believe it. I reheated them the next day in the microwave oven and they were still perfect. Strange but this works !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yaright

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I love these little yummy appetizers and have eaten many sauce variations, but my favorite is a combination of grape jelly, catsup, pineapple, a little sugar and......diced jalapenos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

See how to turn three ingredients into an addictive little sausage appetizer.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States