Slow Cooker Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
didn't rate this recipe because i we didn't care for it and it's probably because of my sons and i are used to more robust meals. followed the recipe and added 3 cans of clams, but being from south louisiana(yes we did indeed survive Katrina without any government help) this dished lacked the flavor that we are used to. for folks that are in other parts of the world, this might make a good dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2001
excellent my husband who loves claqm chowder gave it an A plus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2000
double the amount of clams and potatoes. Oh so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
I made this for my family and I was SO surprised!! My oldest son went for seconds!! My hubby from NY loved it and so did I!! I didnt use the carotts, but did double the clams and potatoes. VERY GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Chino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
Our house smelled so good as this cooked! It was really good, but was more of a soup then a creamy chowder! **Not complaining** It was still really good! Made a lot for a family of three! But still good reheated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
This was very easy to make, and tasted great. I added some celery and used half and half instead of evaporated milk. i also added another can of clams. will definetly make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
This was delicious and rivaled all of the chowders I've had in New England in the past 25 years! I did use 3 cans of clams and their juice; one can didn't seem like enough. The bacon cooked nicely, potatoes done through; I did set the lid askew for the last hour so it would reduce and thicken a bit. This recipe is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kennebunkport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
Perfect! This recipe is under rated! Add more clams, potatos and cook on high for 5 hours. I also doubble the pepper (personal taste).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I have made this recipe again and again with only one modification-I waited to add the evaporated milk until the end. I add it last with the clams, then heat through. Keeps the milk or cream (depending on what you use) from curdling! My original crock pot was fine with the recipe as is, but the new one burnt and curdled it. So, waiting until the end to add the milk was the charm for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy Ingersoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I was pleasantly surprized how much i liked this. I'm not a big fan of seafood, but the clam taste was so small that i really enjoyed it. I made it for my boyfriend who loves clam chowder, and he loved this too. He did say it was not "clammy" enough. Next time i think I might add whole belly clams also. I did end up making some alterations- adding more clams and potatoes and adding half and half at the end with the clams instead of the evaporated milk. overall great and something I will be making again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PirateCooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Princeton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States