Slow Cooker Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I made this for my mother's birthday and she absolutely ADORED IT! And that's a lot coming from my mother, she's VERY picky. I made a few minute changes. For example I used 3 cans of minced clams because my mother loves clams. I also used hormel real bacon bits instead of the sliced bacon because that's what I had on hand. It worked out GREAT! I will definitely be making this recipe again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katelyn Bellingham

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Watery, bland, non-clam Chowder. I made this exactly to the recipie and it was very bland. Very watery and tasteless and a teeny 6 oz can of clams gets lost in all the liquid.. I'm shocked it has a 4 star rating. It also is way more than 6 servings since given so much liquid is in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This is great! I've never made Clam Chowder before, but after reading the reviews decided to try this with a few additions. I did use two cans of clams, and I'm glad I did; even with that they seemed a little thin on the ground. I used 4 potatoes, which seemed just about right; I used 2 onions, rather than measure a cup. My crockpot cooks pretty hot, so I added the milk when I added the clams; after 4 hours on high. The milk and clams got about 20 minutes on high, 20 minutes on low, then we ate. Yum yum yum! One suggestion for a side; Garlic Cheese Quick Bread, from this site. I made this for my birthday dinner and was not disappointed! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I was pleasantly surprized how much i liked this. I'm not a big fan of seafood, but the clam taste was so small that i really enjoyed it. I made it for my boyfriend who loves clam chowder, and he loved this too. He did say it was not "clammy" enough. Next time i think I might add whole belly clams also. I did end up making some alterations- adding more clams and potatoes and adding half and half at the end with the clams instead of the evaporated milk. overall great and something I will be making again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PirateCooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Princeton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I have used this recipe several times, but with a few changes. I use 2 cans of clams, and I put at least 2 cups of liquid into the pot. I also add some garlic, and I don't add the milk until I add the clams close to the end. With those changes, this is my family's favorite clam chowder recipe, and something I will be cooking for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I_Wanna_Bite!

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sulphur Springs, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BlogAlotAliCat
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Great foundation recipe. Only 4 stars because chowder original recipe more watery and not as creamy as my family likes. We needed a good hearty hot meal to eat with buns during our ski day, so I doubled the recipe for our 7qt crockpot. Cooked on high for 5hrs. See 2 photos I contributed for my results from this recipe. I added additional ingredients & adjusted some of the original items (these are for the doubled recipe unless otherwise specified). Added: 2tsp thyme, 1 bottle clam juice (236ml) & the reserved 1 3/4cup clam juice from cans), 250g chopped crabmeat, 1/2 cup roux to thicken soup (heat on the stove 1/2 cup melted butter & whisking in 1/2 cup flour for less than a min.) I only used 1/2 a carrot total, cubed 6 potatoes (1/3" size), & fried bacon slices first. I then added 1 can condensed cream of mushroom & 1 can condensed cream of potato. As per other reviewers, evaporated milk was added at 1.5 hrs left to cook to prevent curdling. Added the clams & crabmeat at this time too. Added roux with 50 min left when it looked too watery to me. My 7yr old is so-so with chowder (doesn't like chewy clams), but she ate up her whole bowl (she liked the crabmeat). Changes for next time, not double original clam juice amt, therefore add only 1/4 cup roux. My 10yr old & husband also were impressed at the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlogAlotAliCat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I can't get over how disapointing this recipe is. I came home to find brown curdled soup with a black crust on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
This was delicious and rivaled all of the chowders I've had in New England in the past 25 years! I did use 3 cans of clams and their juice; one can didn't seem like enough. The bacon cooked nicely, potatoes done through; I did set the lid askew for the last hour so it would reduce and thicken a bit. This recipe is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kennebunkport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I have made this recipe again and again with only one modification-I waited to add the evaporated milk until the end. I add it last with the clams, then heat through. Keeps the milk or cream (depending on what you use) from curdling! My original crock pot was fine with the recipe as is, but the new one burnt and curdled it. So, waiting until the end to add the milk was the charm for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy Ingersoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
This recipe was easy and delicious despite the fact that the half & half (instead of evaporated milk)curdled. Had great flavor; would make again but may try cream next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States