Slow Cooker Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Absolutely critical to HOLD the cream until your last phase if you have a newer crock pot or one that often cooks faster that what most recipes suggest on a 'low' setting. Ours can cook a full pork butt on low in less than 8 hours to perfection, but almost every recipe we find says 8-10 at least while some say 12-16. It truly depends on the age of your cooker and the manufacturer, so with a cream based soup it's best to wait as long as possible or it will CURDLE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gregory Earls
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This was amazing! I added the milk at the end, as did some others, and added some changes that BlogAlotAliCat made. The only thing I added was at the very end, before serving, I sautéed some fresh lobster and crab meat in a pan, topped the bowls of soup with the meat, and then sprinkled some "Old Bay Seasoning" atop it all. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gregory Earls

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I used 3 cans of minced clams. I left out the carrots and used 4 potatoes. I added a little of Old Bay seasoning. I added the clams in the last hour. My family really liked it. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sblackwell621
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Delicious! I took a couple of the other tips. First, I waited to add the evaporated milk until the last hour so it didn't curdle. I also added a can of diced tomatoes in the beginning. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
His was a complete miss for me. Followed exact recipe and it was watery and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This recipe was just ok for me. Everything was brown when I opened the crockpot. Taste was a little bland. Won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Minkler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I doubled the clams and potatoes as others suggested, but still needed more clams. I left it on low for 8 hours and came home to a slightly burned chowder. The flavor was pretty okay, but the potatoes cooked for too long and were mush, and it was slightly brown from being burned. I might try again when I can get home sooner. Maybe my crock pot cooks too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Kyllburg, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
great and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
The best clam chowder recipe I have tried. Simply perfect. Load up on the black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Urschel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I made this recipe twice. The first time the milk curdled in the crock pot when I didn't stir it. The second time I was home and stirred it every 2 hours or so. It did not curdled, but it came out with an odd brown color and a film over the top (I'm assuming from the bacon grease). It was edible the second time but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerkstr4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States