Slow Cooker Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Absolutely critical to HOLD the cream until your last phase if you have a newer crock pot or one that often cooks faster that what most recipes suggest on a 'low' setting. Ours can cook a full pork butt on low in less than 8 hours to perfection, but almost every recipe we find says 8-10 at least while some say 12-16. It truly depends on the age of your cooker and the manufacturer, so with a cream based soup it's best to wait as long as possible or it will CURDLE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by finalorbit
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This was amazing! I added the milk at the end, as did some others, and added some changes that BlogAlotAliCat made. The only thing I added was at the very end, before serving, I sautéed some fresh lobster and crab meat in a pan, topped the bowls of soup with the meat, and then sprinkled some "Old Bay Seasoning" atop it all. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I used 3 cans of minced clams. I left out the carrots and used 4 potatoes. I added a little of Old Bay seasoning. I added the clams in the last hour. My family really liked it. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sblackwell621
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Delicious! I took a couple of the other tips. First, I waited to add the evaporated milk until the last hour so it didn't curdle. I also added a can of diced tomatoes in the beginning. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
His was a complete miss for me. Followed exact recipe and it was watery and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This recipe was just ok for me. Everything was brown when I opened the crockpot. Taste was a little bland. Won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Minkler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I doubled the clams and potatoes as others suggested, but still needed more clams. I left it on low for 8 hours and came home to a slightly burned chowder. The flavor was pretty okay, but the potatoes cooked for too long and were mush, and it was slightly brown from being burned. I might try again when I can get home sooner. Maybe my crock pot cooks too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Kyllburg, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
great and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
The best clam chowder recipe I have tried. Simply perfect. Load up on the black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Urschel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I made this recipe twice. The first time the milk curdled in the crock pot when I didn't stir it. The second time I was home and stirred it every 2 hours or so. It did not curdled, but it came out with an odd brown color and a film over the top (I'm assuming from the bacon grease). It was edible the second time but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerkstr4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States