Slow Cooker Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I have made this recipe again and again with only one modification-I waited to add the evaporated milk until the end. I add it last with the clams, then heat through. Keeps the milk or cream (depending on what you use) from curdling! My original crock pot was fine with the recipe as is, but the new one burnt and curdled it. So, waiting until the end to add the milk was the charm for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BlogAlotAliCat
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Great foundation recipe. Only 4 stars because chowder original recipe more watery and not as creamy as my family likes. We needed a good hearty hot meal to eat with buns during our ski day, so I doubled the recipe for our 7qt crockpot. Cooked on high for 5hrs. See 2 photos I contributed for my results from this recipe. I added additional ingredients & adjusted some of the original items (these are for the doubled recipe unless otherwise specified). Added: 2tsp thyme, 1 bottle clam juice (236ml) & the reserved 1 3/4cup clam juice from cans), 250g chopped crabmeat, 1/2 cup roux to thicken soup (heat on the stove 1/2 cup melted butter & whisking in 1/2 cup flour for less than a min.) I only used 1/2 a carrot total, cubed 6 potatoes (1/3" size), & fried bacon slices first. I then added 1 can condensed cream of mushroom & 1 can condensed cream of potato. As per other reviewers, evaporated milk was added at 1.5 hrs left to cook to prevent curdling. Added the clams & crabmeat at this time too. Added roux with 50 min left when it looked too watery to me. My 7yr old is so-so with chowder (doesn't like chewy clams), but she ate up her whole bowl (she liked the crabmeat). Changes for next time, not double original clam juice amt, therefore add only 1/4 cup roux. My 10yr old & husband also were impressed at the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlogAlotAliCat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2000
double the amount of clams and potatoes. Oh so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
Perfect! This recipe is under rated! Add more clams, potatos and cook on high for 5 hours. I also doubble the pepper (personal taste).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
This chowder curdled in my crock pot. I followed the recipe to put crock pot on low for 9 hours. I was very disappointed that it did not work out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OSBORNEFAM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This is great! I've never made Clam Chowder before, but after reading the reviews decided to try this with a few additions. I did use two cans of clams, and I'm glad I did; even with that they seemed a little thin on the ground. I used 4 potatoes, which seemed just about right; I used 2 onions, rather than measure a cup. My crockpot cooks pretty hot, so I added the milk when I added the clams; after 4 hours on high. The milk and clams got about 20 minutes on high, 20 minutes on low, then we ate. Yum yum yum! One suggestion for a side; Garlic Cheese Quick Bread, from this site. I made this for my birthday dinner and was not disappointed! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I was pleasantly surprized how much i liked this. I'm not a big fan of seafood, but the clam taste was so small that i really enjoyed it. I made it for my boyfriend who loves clam chowder, and he loved this too. He did say it was not "clammy" enough. Next time i think I might add whole belly clams also. I did end up making some alterations- adding more clams and potatoes and adding half and half at the end with the clams instead of the evaporated milk. overall great and something I will be making again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PirateCooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Princeton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
This recipe turned out awful. All the milk curdled. You can't put the milk in and then cook it for 9 - 11 hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
I made this for my family and I was SO surprised!! My oldest son went for seconds!! My hubby from NY loved it and so did I!! I didnt use the carotts, but did double the clams and potatoes. VERY GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Chino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
Our house smelled so good as this cooked! It was really good, but was more of a soup then a creamy chowder! **Not complaining** It was still really good! Made a lot for a family of three! But still good reheated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States