Slow Cooker Cinnamon Apple Steel Cut Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Carole
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly as shown! It looked just as pictured but the taste was a letdown! It needed to be sweetened, a lot! If I try it again, I'll defiantly use sweetened applesauce plus sweetener as needed...but it looked yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I made this recipe as is and it was very good. Then I made a few changes. I used 7 cups of liquid, half water and half almond milk. I used chunky applesauce and left out the diced apples (because I am lazy), and I used 1/8 cup cinnamon. I used stevia for the sweetener. I mixed it all together in a bowl and then poured it into the slow cooker. I cooked on low, but it was ready after 4 hours. Undercooking a little is good I think, so you can reheat it it with a little more liquid. This will be my go to breakfast this winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Ingredients are good, but water was way too much. Because of that I almost gave it two stars....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I followed some of the suggestions given by other members and the oatmeal turned out great! I used 7 cups of water instead of 8 and next time I will probably reduce the water a little more. I also reduced the cinnamon in half and added 3 apples instead of 2. It took the full 6 hours in the slow cooker on low to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I woke up this morning to the wonderful smell of this cooking in the crockpot. What a treat! However, next time I will reduce the amount of water. I added a small amount ground flax seed to help reduce the watery texture for this batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
smelled great. didnt care for the taste...a bit bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Very yummy. Will try with 7 cups of water because was liquid and I add two cups of cooked oatmeal from stovetop to help soak some of it up. Also 1/4 cup of cinnamon is a bit much. Will add less next time. I did 2 Grannie's and 1 Red delicious, got several compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IRADEE8U

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Not sure what went wrong, but mine turned out like apple soup and I followed recipe exactly. I could have used 2 cups of water and maybe this would have better. I even cooked about 3 hours longer, to try and thicken up, and all that did was make the oatmeal stick to the sides. :-( hubby said, at least the house smells good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pasta69302
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Love this recipe! Tweeked it a bit, using 3 apples, 7 cups of water instead of 8 cups, and used 1 tbsp of Splenda brown sugar. Added a few bananas and a ton of raisins. Husband never liked oatmeal but he tried it and wants to know when I'm going to make again! Freezes beautifully too. It will be a regular. Brought to work and everyone wanted the recipe,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
It was good, but not amazing for me. I think this may be partly due to the sugar substitute. The oatmeal was sweet, but left a weird aftertaste. We actually sprinkled a little brown sugar on top before serving and that helped to balance it out. When I first started dishing it out it seemed very runny to me, but after it sat for a min it actually thickened up to a consistency we liked, but it if we had added milk like we usually like to do it would have been too runny again. My daughter really did not like how the apples turned out, they were total mush. Overall it was a good recipe but I probably wont make it again. I will stick to the flavor free varieties and let everyone add their own toppings/additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

See how to make a tender pork roast in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States