Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I used a good quality salsa, double-batch of homemade taco seasoning and double the cilantro. I made the end result into fajitas with sauteed red pepper, sweet onion and minced garlic. As always, I think the quality of your ingredients can make or break your recipe--I'm glad I doubled the spices and used a good salsa. We were quite hungry today so this fed us well with enough leftover for another meal, with the sauteed vegetables. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1210 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This a great way to feed a crowd. I add a can of black beans, rinsed and drained, and a bag of frozen whole kernal corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Yum! Really, really good. Instead of taco seasoning mix I just threw in some spices: cumin, ancho chile powder, sea salt, black/white pepper, oregano, etc. The cilantro gives it such a fresh flavor; if you like cilantro, you'll like this dish. I served it in whole wheat flour tortillas with shredded cabbage, shredded cheese, plain yogurt, and fresh cilantro. I'll definitely make again. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
775 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I do this all the time but if you get a salsa with a lot of flavor, you can omit the taco packet. It only adds extra sodium. Instead, use a jar of salsa, 2 minced garlic cloves and a diced onion. I also like to use two limes. :) (and if you add the lime and fresh cilantro in the last hour of cooking you get MORE flavor)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
459 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I tried this tonight and, while the chicken was very tender and easy to shred, the recipe was too salty for my tastes. The combination of the taco seasoning and salsa made for the salty taste I'm sure. I would make this again but I'd look for a lower sodium salsa, if there is such a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
258 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janie K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This recipe makes a whole lotta chicken so I tried it several ways. It was good in crispy taco shells and in corn and flour tortillas. The biggest winner, however, was chicken enchiladas. They were simply the best I have ever had. Just spoon into corn tortillas with a little cheese, pour your favorite enchilada sauce over top, top with a little more cheese, bake and you are in enchilada heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
224 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Found this a very easy to make taco filling.I used McCormick Chicken Taco seasoning and La Costena brand salsa verde. It was done in 7 hrs on low setting.This would even be good served over rice and topped the the juices from the crockpot and some cilantro and onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Horatio, Arkansas, USA
Living In: De Queen, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
so easy and so delicious! we served it over mexican rice and black beans with a little cheese and sour cream. mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arden, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Ambler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This smelled so awesome while it was cooking! I cooked it on high for about four hours. It was so tender and pulled apart so easily. I plan to freeze some for later use. Will make great tacos or sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I served it with naan bread and rice, GREAT combination with this chicken, and a great change of pace for us. I'll make it again, maybe for company next time. I appreciate that the meat pairs well with something besides boring taco shells and tortillas - it wasn't overpowered by the taco seasoning and didn't scream Mexican. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 596) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States