Slow Cooker Cider Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This recipe was okay. We pretty much followed the directions but we don't have a food processor. I don't know if that really made much of a difference. We felt there was a lot of liquid and would have been better if it was thicker. I probably should have browned the pork longer because the flower coating was just kind of mushy when we pulled it out. The pork was really tender, moist, and had a good flavor. We enjoyed it. I hope others try this recipe and add their comments of how they tweaked it. I'd like to try it again and see where I went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvfalcon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This was my recipe, and here are some suggestions. Use only 1 c. cider and 1- 1 1/2 c. water. Use a clove less garlic. Make a package gravy and don't use drippings. Cook an hour or two less. Please add your comments and see if we can't improve or perfect this! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I was really excited to try this recipe. I used the advice to reduce the amount of cider. However, I thought that although the roast was very tender it lacked taste. Next time I would reduce water but maybe keep the cider the same. I would also add a bay leaf next time to give a little more flavor. I would try this again but I'll definitely experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This was a great recipe! I didn't have Apple Cider, just Apple Juice. I browned the meat and then covered the pork with the Apple Juice. I chopped the veggies and the apple and put them in the pot ~ it was fabulous! I served over rice and my family really loved this. We live at just over 7,000 feet above sea level so this affects cooking time. Usually I have to cook things longer, but this meal would have been best for us served after 5 hours since I cooked on a gas stove-top rather than a slow cooker. I just can't say enough about how delicious this was and how much we all enjoyed this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colorado Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This is, in my opinion, the best way to cook a pork loin. My only changes were...I don't brown the meat first; I've found no need to. The meat will cook nicely without it. I don't bother with the food processor, either. Don't make anything more time consuming than it has to be; just throw sliced onion and apple in the pot with the roast. I omit flour and add sage to rub on the pork. I put the carrots in the pot with the roast and cook it an hour less than the recipe says. Lastly, apple juice will work in a pinch, since apple cider isn't always available, but you won't get the same flavor. Cider is stronger and will add more flavoring and shouldn't be watered down with so much water. There's no need for almost five cups of liquid in a slow cooker. Other than a few minor and easy changes, this recipe is the best way to cook a pork loin. It's fast, easy and oh, so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
253 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peebs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I didn't use the food processor or brown the meat and it turned out really good. 5 and 1/2 hours was plenty of time and the meat was quite tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Wanted to try something different with shoulder roast. After reading reviews, I decided to use 2 packets of apple cider mix rather than one and reduced overall water. I also added ground cloves (about a teaspoon or so). The results were good, which was surprising! House smelled great during the day and the meat was tender with an apple taste. My husband really liked it; but my 16 year old didn't care to much for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This roast is tender and juicy. My husband and son are both picky about food cooked in the slow cooker, but they liked this. I reduced the water to about 1/2 cup. I put it in the slow cooker on low and used the temperature probe to switch to "warm" when it reached 170 degrees. Supper was done when we got home from work and school. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Seeley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
The meat was flaking off appetizingly when I opened the cooker after 7 or so hours and that was about it unfortunately. The meat was completely flavorless, the aroma only semi-tantilizing. I had high hopes after seeing the ingredient list & tasting the broth before adding the pork. But we had the pork sitting in the fridge for three days & a first, had to toss it out nearly untouched. We were looking for a subtler pork recipe to our usual Puerco Pibil. If I were to try this again, I'd take out water completely at the least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This was absolutely DEElicious!! My husband is a picky eater when it comes to certain things - but this recipe he LOVED! It's a must try it for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tenschi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

See how to make a tender pork roast in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States