Slow Cooker Cider Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I am torn on this one. The pork was fine. But I reduced the amount of water and the gravy was still watery but too sweet. Hubby liked it - me, not so much. One tip - when you brown the meat, deglaze the pan and add those juices to the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Kinda dry...cooked too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I was looking for a Cider Pork recope because I couldn't get my mother on the phone for her recipe... this is a GREAT recipe... but I knew it was missing just a few things to make it just like moms... First I completely omitted the water and instead used a bit more apple cider... then I added in some allspice (to taste), honey and a can of crushed tomatoes! We also serve this over mashed potatoes... yum! (oh and the celery and carrots were a new addition but tasty!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hammondsport, New York, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Flavorful and moist, made a gravy out of the leftover drippings which was so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTWhite

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Vermont, USA
Living In: White River Junction, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I would rate this a 3 ... pork was really dry .. followed recipe exact .... very little apple flavour ... I think next time I would omit the water for a stronger apple flavouring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Simple, easy and simply delicious. A great meal for a busy afternoon/evening. Gives you a wonderful smelling house to come home to, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I was disappointed in this recipe. It wasn't bad, just not what I was hoping for. I thought it was going to have more apple flavor and it was a little bland. I probably won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Was excellent and a good dish for dinner guests. I cooked everything first and then used the immersion blender to slightly blend the apples and onion mixture as gravy and thicken it up but left some chunks. Then added the carrots for the last 3 hours -- still some crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neillsville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sparta, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I made this exactly as the recipe stated except I used 3/4 c. of water. It was fantastic! I served it with wide egg noodles with onions and cabbage..mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I'm sorry i hate giving negative reviews. I read some of the reviews which said to use more cider and less water. I used no water and replaced it with more cider. The roast had very little flavor but it was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

See how to make a tender pork roast in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States