Slow Cooker Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
First of all, if I'm going to cook it in the Crock Pot.... that's the only "pot/pan" I'm going to use. Normally, I don't buy, or eat pork (no it's not a religious thing... it's a personal preference thing".) However, my local meat market had some lovely pork chops... so Why not? Used this recipe.... modified..... for what I can... and cannot eat. Into the slow cooker..... I threw in an onion, potatoes, whatever cut of pork chops has bones, sprinkled with garlic and onion powder, salt substitute, pepper, added some "lower sodium" cream of mushroom soup. Let it cook on high for (5-6) hours..Threw in a can of green beans. Another hour or so...... done, and done. Delicious. I've been cooking for about 55 years, or so.... Yes. I tweak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E.R. White

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
With the suggested changes included (from other's tips), it is 5 stars. Here is what I did: Added seasoned salt to each side and browned the chops in oil. Added condensed beef broth into pan after chops cooked to get the bits from browning. Added mushroom soup and about 1 extra can water. Tossed in a handful of frozen diced onions and a minced garlic clove along with a pinch of general seasoning from our local olive oil shop that has a few dried red bell peppers, parsley, thyme. Next time will also add 1-2 T white wine. Cooked on high for 6 hours and did not add potatoes or green beans (hub doesn't like). Served over mashed potatoes with peas on the side. These were tender and very tasty. Can't wait to eat the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2BakeGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I started my version of this recipe with six half inch boneless pork chops. Heated up a 12" skillet with a couple tbsp of canola oil, some minced garlic and half a medium sized onion. Browned the chops for a few minutes along with the drippings from the pan and added them to the cream of mushroom soup in the crock pot. Added a cup of milk (instead of water) and a can of cut green beans. I then added a dash or so of onion powder, a dash of celery salt and a dash of rosemary-garlic herb, a few shakes of dried chives and a little red wine (probably a couple ounces). I cooked it on low for 8 hours and served it over mashed potatoes that I cooked separately. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
This was awesome! I fixed it for dinner tonight. I did make a couple of changes.I put a can of cream of mushroom soup in the bottom of the crock pot with a little water and 3 beef bouillon cubes. I cut up an onion and quartered four white potato's with skins and put them on top of soup. Sprinkled garlic powder over all. I browned my pork chops with garlic powder, salt and pepper and then put them on top of the potato mixture. I then added another can of mushroom soup and a little water. I drizzled some worcestershire sauce on top and cooked it on med for 7 hours. After 6 hours I added 3 small cans of mushrooms and 2 cans of green beans. It was yummy and had a great flavor. I think the beef bouillon added flavor and didn't make the gravy to runny! This recipe is a keeper! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I took the suggestion of another rater, seasoned the chops with salt, pepper, garlic, and onion powder and browned them in a skillet. Then I added the water to the skillet to soak up the flavors and poured that water into the crockpot vs plain water. I also used red potatoes. This recipe is a good start but does take some tweeking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Absolutely loved this receipe! Did however change it up a little bit. I read some of the reviews and they all seemed to say the same thing... add more seasoning, more potatoes, etc. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
It was very good but it needed something else. I used another reviewers suggestion on using cream of chicken with roasted garlic which made it tastier, but I think that the next time, and there will be, I am going to put some mushrooms and double the beans and soup. Will let everyone know how this goes. Overall I recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I added 2 cans soup for extra gravy. I also added Mrs Dash for extra seasoning. I have also done it with the water that is listed in recipe and once I substituted 1/2 water & 1/2 milk. However you do it, it is easy, it makes a great meal that fills you up, and it tastes good the next day as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Customized version: used another can of soup, more spices, more onion, no green beans, seared the chops & sliced the potatoes. I also layered as another reviewer suggested: half of the potatoes & onions w/ s&p, half the soup/water mixture, the chops in the middle, other half potatoes then soup. On low 8-9 hours did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Seasoned pork with garlic powder & onion pepper as well as S&P, added corn as well as green beans, came out pretty good and the pork fell apart after 7 hrs, my 3 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Gardiner, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States