Slow Cooker Chocolate Banana Steel Cut Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acejarvis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Abbey
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Very good. Mine cooked thoroughly in about 5 hours. I stirred every so often to prevent caking on the sides. I swapped the Stevia for pure maple syrup to make this real food friendly. We will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
My husband and kids would not eat this. I had too dark of a chocolate flavor and they didn't like the texture. I didn't mind it but it was not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
My kids, who are usually open to different flavors, did not like this and I wasn't crazy about it either. It had a very dark chocolate (not very sweet) taste and I'm a dark chocolate fan, but this just didn't work for me. I liked the consistency though of the steel oats, so I think I'll try another slow cooker recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
The oats cooked just fine, but I think they really benefited from the middle-of-the-night stirring I did. (Was awake with the baby anyway so I decided to check on the oats.) However, I think the chocolate flavor did not go very well with the earthy flavor of the oats. Oh well, it was an experiment. I'll probably cook oats this way again, but stick with a more traditional flavor profile of cinnamon and apples or raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I wasn't a fan of this. I feel that the recipe called for too much water - the oats weren't thick enough. The flavor was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Made this today perfect at 6 hrs. Did get a little dry around the edges and the bottom; I think it would benefit from stirring occasionally. Also added 1 cup of Splenda, but could have even used a little more. The kids enjoyed it with a few dark chocolate chips mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I just love the concept of cooking steel cut oatmeal in the slow cooker. I did not have cocoa so I used cranberries. This is such a timesaver. Being a work commuter, I pre-package servings so this is a winner. With all the variations and the convenience of the crock pot, never a dull moment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Amazing...I used "Special Dark" cocoa powder...with little garnishes like: flaked coconut, white chocolate chips, nuts, really anything you like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra-Matris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This was wonderful! Loving experimenting with slow cooker oatmeal. My husband loves this too. i used skim milk to replace half the water, seems to make it creamier. I also used a little more splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Honey-Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

Easy recipe for tender, sweet and savory chicken thighs.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States