Slow Cooker Chocolate Banana Steel Cut Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
My husband and kids would not eat this. I had too dark of a chocolate flavor and they didn't like the texture. I didn't mind it but it was not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
My kids, who are usually open to different flavors, did not like this and I wasn't crazy about it either. It had a very dark chocolate (not very sweet) taste and I'm a dark chocolate fan, but this just didn't work for me. I liked the consistency though of the steel oats, so I think I'll try another slow cooker recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
The oats cooked just fine, but I think they really benefited from the middle-of-the-night stirring I did. (Was awake with the baby anyway so I decided to check on the oats.) However, I think the chocolate flavor did not go very well with the earthy flavor of the oats. Oh well, it was an experiment. I'll probably cook oats this way again, but stick with a more traditional flavor profile of cinnamon and apples or raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I wasn't a fan of this. I feel that the recipe called for too much water - the oats weren't thick enough. The flavor was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Made this today perfect at 6 hrs. Did get a little dry around the edges and the bottom; I think it would benefit from stirring occasionally. Also added 1 cup of Splenda, but could have even used a little more. The kids enjoyed it with a few dark chocolate chips mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I just love the concept of cooking steel cut oatmeal in the slow cooker. I did not have cocoa so I used cranberries. This is such a timesaver. Being a work commuter, I pre-package servings so this is a winner. With all the variations and the convenience of the crock pot, never a dull moment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Amazing...I used "Special Dark" cocoa powder...with little garnishes like: flaked coconut, white chocolate chips, nuts, really anything you like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra-Matris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This was wonderful! Loving experimenting with slow cooker oatmeal. My husband loves this too. i used skim milk to replace half the water, seems to make it creamier. I also used a little more splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This was super yummy. It does make a lot. I made it for a work breakfast pitch in and it went over very well. I used extra banana and I served it with fresh banana and chocolate chips. Mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This made a HUGE batch! Made the house smell very yummy though. Needed more splenda for my family too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Waverly, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Honey-Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

Easy recipe for tender, sweet and savory chicken thighs.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States