Slow Cooker Chocolate Banana Steel Cut Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
My kids, who are usually open to different flavors, did not like this and I wasn't crazy about it either. It had a very dark chocolate (not very sweet) taste and I'm a dark chocolate fan, but this just didn't work for me. I liked the consistency though of the steel oats, so I think I'll try another slow cooker recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
The oats cooked just fine, but I think they really benefited from the middle-of-the-night stirring I did. (Was awake with the baby anyway so I decided to check on the oats.) However, I think the chocolate flavor did not go very well with the earthy flavor of the oats. Oh well, it was an experiment. I'll probably cook oats this way again, but stick with a more traditional flavor profile of cinnamon and apples or raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I wasn't a fan of this. I feel that the recipe called for too much water - the oats weren't thick enough. The flavor was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Made this today perfect at 6 hrs. Did get a little dry around the edges and the bottom; I think it would benefit from stirring occasionally. Also added 1 cup of Splenda, but could have even used a little more. The kids enjoyed it with a few dark chocolate chips mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I just love the concept of cooking steel cut oatmeal in the slow cooker. I did not have cocoa so I used cranberries. This is such a timesaver. Being a work commuter, I pre-package servings so this is a winner. With all the variations and the convenience of the crock pot, never a dull moment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Amazing...I used "Special Dark" cocoa powder...with little garnishes like: flaked coconut, white chocolate chips, nuts, really anything you like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra-Matris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This was wonderful! Loving experimenting with slow cooker oatmeal. My husband loves this too. i used skim milk to replace half the water, seems to make it creamier. I also used a little more splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This was super yummy. It does make a lot. I made it for a work breakfast pitch in and it went over very well. I used extra banana and I served it with fresh banana and chocolate chips. Mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This made a HUGE batch! Made the house smell very yummy though. Needed more splenda for my family too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Waverly, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States