Slow Cooker Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
Very good! I used about 1 1/2 lbs of ground beef and I only used three cans of kidney beans (it just seemed like a lot of beans)with one green pepper. Also, I added garlic powder, salt and pepper and used A LOT more chili powder than the recipe called for. I used about four tablespoons. It was a little watery so I added a small can of tomato paste! I thought it was a great recipe overall! I will make this agian without a doubt! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2000
Try using tomato paste in place of some of the canned tomatoes for a thicker consistency. You may want to add a bit of suger, however, to sweeten it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
My family loved this one! I made 12 servings but only used half of the cans instructed (I don't like a lot of beans). I also added a bay leaf, Italian seasoning and a lot of garlic (6 cloves for 12 servings). I also put some tomato paste - I have it in a tube so I just squeezed it in) to try and thicken it up a little. What an improvement to an already wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
This is the best tasting and satisfling chili I have had in a long time. Thank You.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Used 1 40oz can of kidney beans instead, cut the pepper and the onion, added 2 cans tomato paste, salted, peppered, used garlic powder to taste and 3tbs chili powder. Also used 2lbs ground beef instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A.Gravelyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
Tastes great, very easy to make. Especially good for cold winter nights. We added some tabasco after it was done for a little extra spice. We also used turkey rather than beef to make a little more healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Great base recipe, I downsized the amounts for a smaller slow cooker, added in some salsa and cooked for 8 hours on a low setting- instant dinner when you come home from work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Bravo! I really loved this. I used a small can of Manwich sauce inplace of one of the cans of tomato sauce. It along withe spices gave the dish some extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Loved this chili. It's so easy to make too. It is kinda hard to mess up chili, though...I mean you can add pretty much whatever you want to it as long as you have the main ingrediants of meat and beans. I add celery sometimes, different bell peppers for taste and colour, few different spices. You just have to mess around a bit with ingrediants or add or subtract whatever tastes you do or dont like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nbourque81

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Tecumseh, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I LOVE THIS RECIPE! I'm a very hesitant beginner cook and I've now made this at least 10 times and my family and I really enjoy it. It's a little different every time, but it always turns out well. Seems like you can't really mess it up..... just my kind of recipe. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shoshanna

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Arcata, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States