Slow Cooker Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
My chili came out great but that was with some changes to this recipe...I only put in 3 cans of beans...i used a can of diced tomatoes and a small can of tomatoe paste instead of the suggested can of tomotoes. I used 3 times the chili powder and also added two hot peppers used only one green pepper and threw in some hot sauce and salt....otherwise it would have been to runny and too beany and too bland...4 hours was perfect cooking time in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
I really wish I would have read the other reviews prior to making this. The recipe 'as is' does not make a very good chili. It is very runny, not enough chili powder and has WAY too many beans in it. I think the changes suggested by the other reviewers would help a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
Very good! I used about 1 1/2 lbs of ground beef and I only used three cans of kidney beans (it just seemed like a lot of beans)with one green pepper. Also, I added garlic powder, salt and pepper and used A LOT more chili powder than the recipe called for. I used about four tablespoons. It was a little watery so I added a small can of tomato paste! I thought it was a great recipe overall! I will make this agian without a doubt! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2000
this is not relly a thick chili,its more watery like soup,very watery,at least it was when i made it.it was still good but not what i though it was going to be
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Used 1 40oz can of kidney beans instead, cut the pepper and the onion, added 2 cans tomato paste, salted, peppered, used garlic powder to taste and 3tbs chili powder. Also used 2lbs ground beef instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A.Gravelyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
My family loved this one! I made 12 servings but only used half of the cans instructed (I don't like a lot of beans). I also added a bay leaf, Italian seasoning and a lot of garlic (6 cloves for 12 servings). I also put some tomato paste - I have it in a tube so I just squeezed it in) to try and thicken it up a little. What an improvement to an already wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2000
Try using tomato paste in place of some of the canned tomatoes for a thicker consistency. You may want to add a bit of suger, however, to sweeten it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Bravo! I really loved this. I used a small can of Manwich sauce inplace of one of the cans of tomato sauce. It along withe spices gave the dish some extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
After reading reviews and taking others suggestions I made my chili with: almost 2 lbs ground beef, 1 greean bell pepper diced, 1 red bell pepper diced, 1 onion diced, 2 cans of kidney beans, 1 can chili beans, 1 can diced tomatoes, 1 small can tomato paste, 1 1/2 cups water, lots of salt, pepper and chili powder. It turned out perfect!4 hrs was the perfect amount of time. It was my first chili attempt and its now a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Amero
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This chili is very easy to make and everyone in my family thought it was good. Which doesn't happen very often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States