Slow Cooker Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
Tastes great, very easy to make. Especially good for cold winter nights. We added some tabasco after it was done for a little extra spice. We also used turkey rather than beef to make a little more healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
When I made this chili, my husband went ga-ga!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
This had a good flavour..but way to runny. This was the first time I have ever made chili and the first time I have used my slowcooker. I would drain the beans next time...and have less of them..I only used three cans of kidney beans and subsituted one can of chick peas(which was a great choice for chili). I would use more beef and mor chili powder. It just wasn't what you would expect when thinking about chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
I really wish I would have read the other reviews prior to making this. The recipe 'as is' does not make a very good chili. It is very runny, not enough chili powder and has WAY too many beans in it. I think the changes suggested by the other reviewers would help a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
I had a half can of diced tomatoes and was wondering what to do with it so I took this recipe as a base and made lots of changes. I added about a half cup of hot salsa because of the small amount of diced tomato we used and half a small can of tomato paste. I used only 1 can of red kidney beans (drained) which was just enough and about 3/4 lb of extra lean ground turkey. I also used just a small amount of green pepper and used dried onion flakes since my husband won't eat fresh onions. I added some red wine to give it more flavor and to keep it from being too thick. For seasoning I added lots of salt and pepper, parsley, garlic powder, and a lot more chili powder then the recipe called for (about 2 tsp) and it still wasn't spicy enough for me (although my husband thought it was perfect). I sprinkled some crushed chili peppers on mine to give it a little more kick. After making all of these changes, we thought that this chili was fantastic. I will make it the same way every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
This is a pretty decent base chili recipe. I used a few less beans and little more beef. The soupy consistency is solved with a tablespoon of masa. In lieu of masa, cornstarch would work too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
Drained the beans like others did. Added tons of chili powder and even some texas pete to try to get it spicier...good recipe for a base - will make it again with some adjustments
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
Excellent chili! As others, I found it a bit soupy the first time I made it. Now I just dump out all the liquid from the kidney beans and it's just right!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
Very good! I used about 1 1/2 lbs of ground beef and I only used three cans of kidney beans (it just seemed like a lot of beans)with one green pepper. Also, I added garlic powder, salt and pepper and used A LOT more chili powder than the recipe called for. I used about four tablespoons. It was a little watery so I added a small can of tomato paste! I thought it was a great recipe overall! I will make this agian without a doubt! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
I used the large cans of kidney beans, and I drained the liquid, but used about 2 cups after everything was in the crockpot. I didn't find it to be watery. Served with cheese, and oyster crakers! Although it was GREAT it wasn't 5 star quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States