Slow Cooker Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
When I made this chili, my husband went ga-ga!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
This had a good flavour..but way to runny. This was the first time I have ever made chili and the first time I have used my slowcooker. I would drain the beans next time...and have less of them..I only used three cans of kidney beans and subsituted one can of chick peas(which was a great choice for chili). I would use more beef and mor chili powder. It just wasn't what you would expect when thinking about chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
I really wish I would have read the other reviews prior to making this. The recipe 'as is' does not make a very good chili. It is very runny, not enough chili powder and has WAY too many beans in it. I think the changes suggested by the other reviewers would help a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
I had a half can of diced tomatoes and was wondering what to do with it so I took this recipe as a base and made lots of changes. I added about a half cup of hot salsa because of the small amount of diced tomato we used and half a small can of tomato paste. I used only 1 can of red kidney beans (drained) which was just enough and about 3/4 lb of extra lean ground turkey. I also used just a small amount of green pepper and used dried onion flakes since my husband won't eat fresh onions. I added some red wine to give it more flavor and to keep it from being too thick. For seasoning I added lots of salt and pepper, parsley, garlic powder, and a lot more chili powder then the recipe called for (about 2 tsp) and it still wasn't spicy enough for me (although my husband thought it was perfect). I sprinkled some crushed chili peppers on mine to give it a little more kick. After making all of these changes, we thought that this chili was fantastic. I will make it the same way every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
This is a pretty decent base chili recipe. I used a few less beans and little more beef. The soupy consistency is solved with a tablespoon of masa. In lieu of masa, cornstarch would work too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
Drained the beans like others did. Added tons of chili powder and even some texas pete to try to get it spicier...good recipe for a base - will make it again with some adjustments
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
Excellent chili! As others, I found it a bit soupy the first time I made it. Now I just dump out all the liquid from the kidney beans and it's just right!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
Very good! I used about 1 1/2 lbs of ground beef and I only used three cans of kidney beans (it just seemed like a lot of beans)with one green pepper. Also, I added garlic powder, salt and pepper and used A LOT more chili powder than the recipe called for. I used about four tablespoons. It was a little watery so I added a small can of tomato paste! I thought it was a great recipe overall! I will make this agian without a doubt! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
I used the large cans of kidney beans, and I drained the liquid, but used about 2 cups after everything was in the crockpot. I didn't find it to be watery. Served with cheese, and oyster crakers! Although it was GREAT it wasn't 5 star quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
I would rename this recipe from Chili to a Bean soup. It tasted wonderful and I will definately have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States