Slow Cooker Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Very Nice and easy to make started makong mid april 2013
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I love everything in this chili, of course I like to add my own special touch, therefore I give this exact recipe a 4/5. I add a really good porter beer to this chili. Adds a great flavor and it's absolutly delicious. For people who don't care for beer, it doesn't taste like a beer that you drink. It just adds all the goodness from the beer, porters are full of flavor from the hops and wheat. A porter is a dark beer and it gives the chili a great boost of flavor. This chili is a great standard recipe, I add a little more veggies, I like a little more color in my chili. So add some yellow, red, and green bell peppers. Looks great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
This is an excellent recipe just as written. I did make some changes to suit our tastes, but did not need to for the sake of the recipe. I just wanted to make a double batch, so I added some ground sausage instead of extra ground beef and added a few different types of beans instead of just doubling the beans called for in the recipe. I used kidney, pinto, black and boracho beans and I used 5 cans of beans and a can of stewed tomatoes. I added the tomatoes towards the end, as I found that I had drained too much liquid from the beans and just needed a little more moisture. By the way, I did save the liquid from the beans and used it along the way to add back into the chili if needed. This is really a great recipe, and I have frozen a bunch of it to have for quick meals. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grannywils

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Pecos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I for one LOVE when people tell how they made their version of these recipes. It gives me ideas about what works and what doesn't. When I make homemade lasagna, I pull out my 3 favorite recipes and use what I like from them-different prep every time but always delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Gd Chili. I like to throw whatever vegetable I have in frig just to give it more interest. Use Lots of Garlic and everyone will love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Great recipe, omitted the celery....my hubby and kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I had never made chili by myself before but this recipe was very simple to follow and very tasty! I agree with some of the other reviewers who felt it was a little bland; we compensated by adding salsa and sriracha sauce to each serving. I plan on making this again this weekend and I think instead of tomato puree I'm going to use two cans of Rotel. I also think the vegetables would benefit from a saute before they go into the slow cooker, they were a little bit crunchier than I would have liked but that's just a personal preference. Other than that I highly recommend this recipe, we had it with tortillas chips and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Came out dry (maybe from having crock pot on high). Next time I will not use a crock pot or different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I've made a couple of different recipes this winter and this one was rated last. My husband is a big chili fan and also didn't care for it very much. The celery was weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
LOVED!!!!! this recipe. it was delicious. only teaked it slightly. I used 3/4 tsp hot sauce instead for a bit more of a kick, and 5 cloves of garlic. I also drained and rinsed the beans and didnt use the liquid from the. instead i used 1 large can of crushed tomatoes and used the liquid from that. super delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 417) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States