Slow Cooker Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I LOVE this recipe! And I made it exactly as written. Honestly, NOTHING needs changing. There is no strong celery taste (just a bit of added fiber:) and it gives it a great texture. I am picky with my chili...I used to not like it. But this one is the best I've come across.I've made it at least a dozen times in the past few years since I found it. In fact, I'm making it for my chili contest tonight...wish me luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I made this recipe for my husband, and he who thinks the best chili is made at steak and shake, said it tasted very good his only complaint was to many beans, so the next time I'm going to leave out one can of the red kidney beans. I personally liked it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marsha
Living In: Dunedin, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I wasn't impressed, I wish there was more of a tomato presence in it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBott
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I am not a chili person, but this was pretty good. I omitted the bell pepper, as my husband doesn't like it, and I was out of celery. It is a very mild chili, so if you are looking for something with spice (as in heat), you are going to have to kick it up, though it has a very good flavor. I will make it again- it is too simple and too good not to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
heres what i did i flipped the recipe a bit but used the general recipe as a base, and i have a large family and a large crockpot, feeding 8 people ive learned to stretch and it was a bit cheaper. first what i did i make my beans from dried beans so i took a bag of red kidney beans, quick soaked them and then cooked them in chicken broth and kept the juice. from there i used ground turkey cooked in a little bacon fat and salt&pepper. 1 pound ground turkey drained 1 cup diced onion 1 cup diced celery 3/4 cup diced yellow bell pepper 4 cloves garlic, minced 2 (10.75 ounce) cans tomato diced with juice for the beans i used the tomato cans and filled them with beans and the one with juice i added the bean broth from the boil. 1 (15 ounce) can kidney beans with liquid 1 (15 ounce) can kidney beans, drained 1 (15 ounce) can black beans i pulled from the freezer that i prepped from another meal with some of the bean broth 1 (15 ounce) can black beans drained (mine were frozen) 1/2 tablespoon chili powder 1/2 teaspoon dried parsley 1 teaspoon salt 1 teaspoon dried basil 1 teaspoon dried oregano 1 teaspoon ground black pepper and a sprinkle of different chili powder as much as you want on top of all that i put in 3 chili flavor packets and i topped off the crock pot with more kidney/black beans and i put more of that bean broth in till it topped off the crock pot and had a chili texture, a little on the watery side and let it just cook on low for 10hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This is delicious!!!! I used cannelloni beans, red kidney beans and pink beans. Used water from only one can of beans. Didn't use green pepper. Used a can of corn. Added a can tomato paste and a can if diced tomatoes. Used extra chili powder. Super delicious!! This will he my staple chili from now on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I think that this chili is quite bland, I added much more seasoning after about 6 hours due to the blandness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I think this is a great base recipe for first time chili makers! I bumped up the spices and added a bit of cumin. I also used black beans and kidney beans and only drained 1 can. I used diced tomatoes and puree. NO CELERY! Like I said it's a great base and you can play with it to your liking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Good, very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 441) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States