Slow Cooker Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I thought this recipe was very bland, not flavourful or hot enough. Next time I'll triple up on the spices (or more)...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loretta Mercredi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
This was okay - thought it was missing something so added some spices and diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This is my go-to chili recipe. Perfect for game day! I made a few minor changes. I leave out the celery, use an orange bell pepper rather then green (personal preference), leave out one of the cans of red beans (I use one can of drained and rinsed red beans and one can undrained cannellini beans). I use an Italian spice blend in place if the oregano, basil and parsley and use 6-8 jalapeños (half of them deseeded and ribs removed) in place of the hot sauce (my family likes spicy, but it's mild enough even for our four year old). LOVE this chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Never thought of adding celery to chili, but we LIKED the crunch it added. This recipe is different than others we've tried, but we liked the change. Didn't have tomato purée on hand, so I used puréed Hot Rotel and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
It is very, very bland. I initially added about 1 Tbs of cumin at the beginning along with 3 or 4 small bay leaves. After 8 or 9 hours, it was still bland, so I added about 2 Tbs of Tony Chachere's, 1 or 2 Tbs of chili powder, some Rendezvous dry rub, a Tbs of garlic powder, and a couple tsp of black powder. After another 2 hours on high in my slow cooker, it turned out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
The first time I made this Chili it was served to my husband, and his Mom and Dad, for dinner that night; a bold move since I had no idea how it would turn out. By the end of the meal everyone was complimenting me for it and having seconds! Since his parents aren't easy to please when it comes to food, this meal must have been extra good. A winner in our book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Admittedly I usually use McCormick for chili (powdered packet), but I wanted to try something different using my crock pot. All my kids whined that I was "making chili AGAIN!" but then shocked us all when they loved it. I did not have cannellini beans, but used pinto beans with jalepenos instead and substituted crushed tomatoes for the puree. Definitely will be making again - thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This was amazing! I added a cup of chicken stock, and about 1 tbsp of dark brown sugar!!! Great with rice or over hot dogs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I made this recipe for kids who have severe food allergies. I used a little cayane pepper instead of hot sauce to accommodate the allergies. Parents and kids loved it! I am asked every few weeks to make it again. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Fantastic. The servings count was a little low - no serving size mentioned, so we used 1 cup. It was absolutely delicious. We'll be doubling the recipe for our next go around. This served 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Rector

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 464) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States