Slow Cooker Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Husband loved it. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Clark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
A bit light on the Chili, 3 pieces of thick cut pepper bacon to the meat, I added roasted anaheim peppers instead of Bell Peppers, and bumped up the chili powder to 1 tablespoon and instead of Canned beens I used red kidneys with an overnight soak and rinse prior to adding to the pot. Tomato paste with tomato sauce rather than puree. 10 hours on low came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenneth Morris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This was my first time doing a chili recipe, and using my brand new Crock Pot, I did half the recipe and didn't use the cannellini beans. My husband liked it a lot, and I enjoyed it, although I think I might try not using celery, I'm not a big fan of celery in general.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabbie Espinal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
4 stars for quality basics. If you've never made chili, this is a great starting point. 1/8 teaspoon of pepper sauce is not nearly enough, but that's my taste. Add more pepper sauce and some spicy sausage and you're in championship form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Love this recipe! I usually double it and add a pound of ground pork in it too. I also brown the meat with onions and peppers then also add raw onions and peppers to the crockpot. Add a little extra hot sauce and ready to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Added an additional pound of meat to substitute for a can of kidney beans. Too many beans for me. Cook over night and I am starving by morning! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan Black

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Added cumin and 1 lbs of chopped steak seasoned in cajun spices. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hugh Stewart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Just made this and it was severely lacking in spice. Needed way more chili powder and oregano. I also added cumin and cinnamon. Flavor is now a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Pethic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
There are thousands of recipes for chili, each one the 'best' according to the cook. At first glance, I liked this one simply because it didn't include additional 'cumin' other than what is included in the chili powder. Having said that, I note that this recipe might be the first choice of those who don't like 'spicy' chili. For those who consider themselves capable in the kitchen, this recipe can be successfully prepared with a boost to the seasoning - for me a BIG boost, but staying away from too much additional cumin-heavy chili powder. Of course, it's all a matter of personal taste. I upped the green pepper and onion as a matter of preference, and the only additional ingredient I added that was not specified was two tablespoons of sugar - but then I add sugar with any recipe using any large quantity of tomato products. Given the outrageous variety of preferences for making chili, this recipe is a great starting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justchaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mckeesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Adamsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
So yummy! I added an extra green bell pepper and one jalapeño pepper because I love peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 464) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States