Slow Cooker Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
My husband and I really liked this recipe. I followed the advice of other posters and drained the majority of the liquid from the beans, as we like thicker chili. Also, I sauteed the onion, celery, pepper, and garlic in butter with a bit of chipotle chili powder before adding to the slow cooker. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I had success with this recipe, with a few small changes from reading reviews. I did NOT add celery. I also drained 2 cans of beans and left one undrained. I used one can of tomato puree and one can of diced tomatoes. I bumped up the seasonings by using 1.5 T of chili powder, extra garlic, and almost 1 tsp of tabasco. The chili came out great and my husband described the flavor as "earthy." He liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
729 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPolencheck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I love this recipe! I have made it twice now and the only thing I did different was add more of the veggies and used a little cheyenne pepper to give it more of kick (but not too much). I ended up making it with pinto beans the second time around instead of kidney beans (I live in CO and during the blizzards the grocery stores were a little low on items) and it tasted great once again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
649 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Figment78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
There is something seriously wrong with putting celery in chili. My family are chili fanatics, I make all different kinds and this is by far the worst one. It doesn't taste like any chili I've ever had before. It was very bland. I won't be making this again EVER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Was looking for a recipe that was similar to one I used to use but lost. This was it and it was great. If you like it spicy, you will need to up the spices. I also added some cumin and swapped out the tomato puree for tomato chunks. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Bage

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amityville, New York, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I am not a huge fan of chili, but my husband has been asking for it, so we tried this one. I am not a huge exact measurment person, so I threw in the beef, approximate amounts of onion, celery and green pepper. I drained all but 1 can of beans (I used dark red, light red and white kidney beans.) I used 1 can of puree and 1 can of diced tomatoes with green chilis. I used the recommended seasonings, approximately, but used tobasco instead of the chili sauce that I didn't have. I cooked for 6 hours on high. This was really hearty with the right ammount of sauce. We stirred in sour cream and cheddar cheese and topped with cheddar french fried onions (way to load up the calories, but boy was it good!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Roy, Utah, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
I thought this recipe was lousy. Where's the taste and spice to it? I'm tempted to pitch it but I think I can salvage it with a whole lot more spices than what's called for in the recipe. It tastes like tomato period! I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
This was awsome and so delicious. I used ground chicken rather than beef and found there was no difference in taste. The ground chicken was usefull in reducing the cholesterol levels in this meal. I will keep this recepie in the faves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
Used ground turkey instead of beef. Everyone who ate it loved it. I also used quite a bit more veggies. Served it over elbow noodles! Yummy for winter time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This is a great recipe for families with different taste buds. I fed my family of six this recipe Superbowl Sunday and what I liked about it was that it wasn't too hot for the young or older ones and for us in the middle we were able to heat it up to our liking. I served it up with some garlic bread and the meal was complete. I only added four cans of beans - three red kidney and one black bean. I don't think the recipe suffered from the lack of the other two cans. Has anyone made this recipe and added cornstarch to thicken it up? I didn't find it overly thin, but debated with my sister whether or not to add the cornstarch. In the end we left it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 417) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States