Slow Cooker Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Truly appreciate any and all recipe posts - especially chili. This recipe, as is, is overkill with beans and extremely light on flavor as written - hence the three star rating. With out hesitation I omitted two cans of beans (kidney and cannellini) and up the ante on the chili powder and added one can of Rotel tomatoes. Additionally, I added some cumin. The adjustments that I made to it would make it a 5 Star recipe. But like all recipes - they are the starting point, and adjusted to fit ones taste. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
This is a great recipe, but what I really want to know is where did they get the bowl in the picture?!? I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Very tasty. Made the recipe exactly as stated. Think next time I will add more ground beef, but overall it was very good and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet_firefly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I really liked this recipe.Didnt have any beans except red kidney beans,so I threw that in without draining.We dont care for celery in chili,so omitted that. Otherwise,followed recipe as written with great results! Ill definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Excellent taste. Worked well in crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Fabulous! This was my first time making chilli and my husband went up for seconds it was that good. I garnished it with a dollop of sour cream and some shredded old cheddar cheese. I just left out the green pepper as I don't like green pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I actually followed this recipe exactly, and it tasted like a bland bowl of tomatoes. It was the worst! In attempt to salvage it, I added cumin, beer, Worcestershire sauce,a lot more chili powder, brown sugar, more garlic, more onion, a little paprika. It does not need so much tomato puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonathan Varnado

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I am going to make this, but since I have an intolerance to beef and kidney beans, I will be using ground turkey and pinto beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I made this for work and received many compliments. The only thing I changed was no celery and added more spices. I also added just a drop or two of liquid smoke!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gloriabeatrice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elrosa, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Waterford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This was just "good" for me, not "great." It is a good starter recipe I suppose, as long as you plan to add more spices or flavorings. But it didn't seem to have much flavor on its own, unfortunately. I added some Worcestershire sauce and hot sauce to try to doctor it up, and that helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lehighton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 464) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States