Slow Cooker Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
really great as is! It was a lil bland for my family so we kicked up all the spices, however the original is great and very hearty! love
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
This chili was incredible. I was shocked by how delicious it was, especially considering that it took about 10 minutes to chop everything and throw it in the slow cooker. My 2 year old son, who often gags when trying new foods, even enjoyed it, asking for "more beans". I switched out 1 can of tomato puree for 1 can of diced tomatoes, as recommended. We also used leftover grilled steak which added a delicious, smokey flavor that melted in our mouths. Then we added tortilla chops and a little mozzarella cheese into our bowls when it was ready to eat. This recipe is a must for busy, working parents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
This was a great recipe! will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CVD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
So bland, wish I would have followed a different recipe. Im going to try to save it but seems a little impossible. And yes I followed every ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
This is a great recipe. I have made it as stated on several occasions. As my confidence in myself grew I have experimented. I have used turkey instead of beef. Lean ground pork is excellent. I spice the meat with taco seasoning while cooking. I have tried different beans but have not liked the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
We love this chili recipe, only the other times I made it I left the celery out and added more onions and carrots. celery in chili, not a success in our opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Very Nice and easy to make started makong mid april 2013
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I love everything in this chili, of course I like to add my own special touch, therefore I give this exact recipe a 4/5. I add a really good porter beer to this chili. Adds a great flavor and it's absolutly delicious. For people who don't care for beer, it doesn't taste like a beer that you drink. It just adds all the goodness from the beer, porters are full of flavor from the hops and wheat. A porter is a dark beer and it gives the chili a great boost of flavor. This chili is a great standard recipe, I add a little more veggies, I like a little more color in my chili. So add some yellow, red, and green bell peppers. Looks great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
This is an excellent recipe just as written. I did make some changes to suit our tastes, but did not need to for the sake of the recipe. I just wanted to make a double batch, so I added some ground sausage instead of extra ground beef and added a few different types of beans instead of just doubling the beans called for in the recipe. I used kidney, pinto, black and boracho beans and I used 5 cans of beans and a can of stewed tomatoes. I added the tomatoes towards the end, as I found that I had drained too much liquid from the beans and just needed a little more moisture. By the way, I did save the liquid from the beans and used it along the way to add back into the chili if needed. This is really a great recipe, and I have frozen a bunch of it to have for quick meals. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grannywils

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Pecos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I for one LOVE when people tell how they made their version of these recipes. It gives me ideas about what works and what doesn't. When I make homemade lasagna, I pull out my 3 favorite recipes and use what I like from them-different prep every time but always delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States