Slow Cooker Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I truly love this recipe. I make it often during the colder months. For anyone who says that celery doesn't belong in chili, doesn't have an open mind. It's virtually tasteless, but very healthy and increases the fiber content of the chili. It also is one of the top foods recommended by the Nat'l Institute of Health to help lower blood pressure. Packed full of veggies, legumes and taste! The recipe rocks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
My husband swears it's the best chili he's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Saucier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
love this and so do my kids. (my youngest of 3 is very picky)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This was absolutely delicious! At church chili lunch, this recipe was gone in minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
It's a good base recipe - and I have to admit I use it often. However, I choose to spice it up by throwing three minced jalapenos in it and bump up the chili powder to a full tablespoon - sometimes more. I remove the membranes and seeds from the jalapenos as my spouse can't handle too much heat and I shouldn't be handling too much - but if you like a bit of extra spice my advice is to keep the seeds and membranes in, add a bit more hot pepper sauce and maybe bump the chili powder up even further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cadence Helme

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I really like this recipe, but while browning the ground beef, I added the seasonings (chilli powered, garlic, fresh parsley, oregano, basil and sea salt) to the meat while it was cooking.... Turned out amazingly delicious! I also added black beans, carrots, mushrooms and diced tomatoes, and added the black pepper in when I put all the veggies in the slow cooker and mixed it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This had a lot of flavors. I didn't add celery, mainly because I forgot. It calls for 1/8 of a teaspoon of hot sauce(for 8 servicing), I put 1/8 teaspoon and 3 drops more in. I also put a can of chili beans and dices green chili tomatoes in. Will have to make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyne Weir

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I enjoyed this very much, though I partly agree with most of the critical observations. Very different from most TX/NM styles. It has more tomato, more beans, and less red pepper than my favorite Texas chili, but it was a hit with my Midwestern friends and family. Note: I chose this recipe for an occasion where I wanted to please a wide range of ages--not too thick and not too spicy hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lockport's Hot Dog Cart King
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
This recipe sounded good.So I followed the Recipe(except)for the cannellini beans.(I didn't have any.)Well I put it all together and after a few hours in the Crock,I tasted it.It was kinda Bland,& Missing something.I went in my spice rack,sniffed a few spices,then I found that missing spice.(Cumin). I added a little at a time(and I mean a shake at a time)tasted it.Did a little more,tasted,until that Chili taste appeared on my pallet (tounge).Then it was good,not over the top,but good.It was 1 thumb up & 1 thumb down.Would I make it again? Let's say I've had better,but it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lockport's Hot Dog Cart King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VLKORNC
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Added1/2 red bell pepper and used Victoria's Gourmet Texas Red Seasoning (1.5 tblsp) and salt only. I sautéed the beef in green onion and omitted the other onion. It's perfect chili! Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 464) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States