Slow Cooker Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 22)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Super yum! While my hubs would beg to differ, I think this is the best chili I've made in a LONG time! My only complaint is that this is a tad too beany for my liking (and I like my beans!). My hubs isn't a fan of beans, so of course he didn't care for this. :( I will definitely make this again if for nothing other than the convenience factor, but I'll make a few modifications to better suit our tastes. I suggest eliminating one can of kidney beans and increasing the beef by a half pound to compensate. Other than these changes, I think this is perfect as is. Served bowlfuls topped with chopped red onion, cilantro and shredded pepper-jack cheese. All I can say is this is the BOMB!!! :) Cornbread was the perfet accompainment. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Danielle! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Photo by badlildube
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I had never made homemade chili before, and this recipe provided me the foundation I needed to build my own chili. My adjustments: We nixed out the celery. Drained all cans of beans. We added: 1 tablespoon cumin. 3/4 cup red pepper. 1 can tomato paste 1 tablespoon hot sauce. Garnished with: Colby Jack Shredded Cheese. Sour Cream. Chives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by badlildube

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This was awesome! The flavors come together very nicely. I topped them with pepper jack cheese, purple onion, jalapenos and cilantro. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Delicious slow cooker chili! The chili turned out really well. I didn't have eight hrs, so I put the slow cooker on high and cooked it for 4 hrs. I forgot to put in the celery and I substituted the cannellini beans with great northern beans. I topped off the chili with some diced jalepenos and shredded cheese. This is definitely one I will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fsfsunshine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Great Recipe! I do have to say the next time I make it, I will use a little more ground meat. And I did add a more chili powder as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Jason made this during the summer. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshall, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Delicious- I made this chili just like the recipe says and it turned out great! My fiance loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I loved this recipe. Easy to make and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I added 1 lb of hot sausage, 1 can corn, skipped the puree and added a bit of chicken stock to substitute the liquid from the beans- must rinse your beans to avoid such a large sodium intake. Topped the chili off with sour cream, freshly grated extra sharp cheddar and fritos. Needless to say it was a huge hit. I also added a touch of cinnamon. Love love loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Very delicious recipe! The only thing I would suggest is when serving, put a tablespoon or two of sour cream on top with a handful of shredded cheese. It's like icing on a cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 211-220 (of 445) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States