Slow Cooker Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I have to agree with everyone else, this was really fabulous! I did make a few alterations based on what I had in the kitchen, like using different types of beans, and I did added diced tomatoes as a sub for one can of puree. Then I had to use tomato sauce instead of puree b/c I couldn't find it in my bags when I got home to start cooking. But it turned out great! I also added corn to it after it was done cooking and for my tastes buds it was the perfect touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
very good, very hearty. I didn't even think of putting shredded cheese or sour cream on this, the flavor was so good! Only thing I did different was use chili beans, instead of kidney beans. It's called Chili, not Kidney, for a reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Quite enjoyable. I would agree with a earlier description: "earthy". In the future, I'll probably buy one of those chili mixes and use for seasoning purposes because there was definitely some room for growth in the seasoning department.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Worked well with venison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Delicious! I always modify it some depending on what ingredients I have. I used 1 full green pepper, 2 jalapeno peppers, 1 full medium onion. 2 lbs of ground beef. For the seasonings I used about 1 tsp of each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Did not like this at all. Spices were way off. I thought it was odd that cumin was not on ingredient list but I thought I would try it anyway since all of the reviews were so favorable. The meat had a mushy odd consistency too. I suppose that is why I never use ground beef in the slow cooker. Even if you were to reduce the cooking and preserve some of the texture of the meat, the flavor was still off. I added a lot of cumin and more chili powder and cooked it down for a while just to make it palatable for dinner, but would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This is delicious, I made it for my friends and they loved it. I made it again for coworkers and they raved. I did add cinnamon to it that another recipe suggested, and worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Pretty Good. I personally am not a fan of bell pepper, but I put it in there anyway just for the sake of sticking to the recipe. My husband said he thought there was too much celery, but I personally think it was the bell pepper he was tasting. Next time I won't put it in...Or I'll half the amount I use. My mom gave me a tip for the future, and I did it to my left overs. Put in some baking cocoa(1 tbs for the whole batch) and brown sugar( I don't remember how much she told me of that, but I put about a tsp in the bowl I'm eating right now). Makes for a little smokier flavor. Even without taking the peppers out, it is much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
the base was great, but missing some of my usual ingredients.. so i put one large can crushed tomatoe, 1 small italian diced and two 1 can kidney beans, both drained. i used diced steak cubes along with hamburg, add spices to meat when sauteing, After meet is cooked I used 1 tbsp flour and spices to cover cooked meat to keep the flavors in the chili. Veggies, are what you like. i like onion and shallots and then some freeze dried tomatoes to the chili. (sometimes corn, but not most of the time) chili is fantastic. this is a great recipe to start with and tailor it to your own tastes. .thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Deerfield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Definitely had to add a few extra ingredients since I thought it was rather bland. I prefer sweeter chili so added some white sugar. Also added some cumin and a dash of steak sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 416) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States