Slow Cooker Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Delicious! Next time, i will add more chili powder , cayenne, and more green pepper. Used stew beef and that was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Never been a chili fan, but this looked good...My fiancé and I LOVED this...I did change it, instead of ground beef, I used ground turkey, also I didn't add the celery...I used one can of tomato puree and one can of diced tomatoes...I made it in the middle of October, my fiancé asked for it again the beginning of November...Guess it's a keeper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This chili recipe is absolutely amazing. It's not even done yet and I can't keep my spoon out the pot. I followed the recipe almost to a "t." I added a can of diced tomatoes cause I like my chili chunky and I sautéed the trinity (onions, peppers and celery) in spices. I also added cumin and cayenne cause I like it spicy. Oh yeah and I used ground turkey cause were not big on beef in my house. Absolutely amazing. I'll never use another chili recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC4622NE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Turned out great! changed the recipe for 12 and come out perfect! Whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Good BASIC recipe. Chili lovers have their own idea of what makes a great chili. So just add or detract (celery)ingredients to make it your own. We have a large crock pot and we like it HOT, so I diced and sauteed 1 jalapeño, 1 habanero and 1 hot banana pepper from my garden and added it to the mix along with cumin, chili powder, roasted paprika, and a few dashes of Louisiana hot sauce:) As far as the beans go, you can add a combination of whatever beans you have on hand and you can't go wrong. I added, 2 cans of red kidney, 2 black, 2 pinto and 2 garbanzo. 2 jars home canned tomatoes and 1 lg can of chopped. Makes plenty of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I made some of the same changes that others talked about. I didn't put in the celery and I drained two of the cans of beans. Next time I would add a can of diced tomatoes and green chiles to give it a bit more spice and I would also add corn. I am thinking of trying a can of black beans in place of one of the cans of kidney beans as well to give it some more flavor. My daughter is a pretty picky eater and she even liked the flavor so that says a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I did make this with turkey for personal preference, drained/washed all the beans and added can diced tomatoes and about half a can of beer. To help the flavors meld I cooked the meat till almost done then added all the seasonings and onions. I then mixed everything in the crockpot and put it in the fridge over night. It was on low for 9.5hrs because I came home late and it was delicious! Really, if you like a more spicy chili (because this is not- which is the way I love it!) either pick a different recipe or add some spices! This got rave reviews from a group of 5...I had hot sauce, sour cream, olives and cheese to add as people prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This recipe is really good and very easy. I made this in a tiny 1.5 qt. slow cooker with the following modifications: no celery, ~3/4 lb. ground beef, 1 can tomato puree, 1 can kidney beans (drained), ~3/4 can cannellini beans (drained), cayenne pepper, red pepper, no parsley, no hot sauce. I'm always a bit heavy-handed on the spices, so I probably used more of those. I threw the onion and green bell pepper on a saute pan for a few minutes, and then added the meat, followed by the garlic. Lots of salt and pepper. Cooked until meat was brown, and then threw everything in the slow cooker. Also, I only let it cook on low for ~6 hours. The result was flavorful, pleasantly spicy, and reallllllly thick. It's a bit more tomato-y than I normally make my chili, but it wasn't a bad thing. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I made this just 3 days ago and I doubled the recipe to have leftovers so I wouldnt have to make supper the next night - well - this recipe takes the cake its AWESOME!!! Sad to say I didnt have any leftovers, my family of 7 ate it all - GREAT RECIPE THANKS FOR SHARING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Highlandville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
good on baked potatoes with cheese & onion too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 464) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States