Slow Cooker Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I actually combined this with the Emily's Chipotle Chili recipe, and decided I would rate both. This recipe was the perfect base recipe, I followed it perfectly. However, I added chiptoles in adobo sauce and that made all the difference. I'm used to bland recipes for homemade chili and this was the complete opposite. I believe I can use this as a base for turkey chili and vegetarian because it was that good. Thank you for sharing. I topped with dumplings, because well, why not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Wonderful recipe! My kids and wife loved the dish. I really love a flavorful rich chili so I had to make some modifications as this recipe I felt needed a little more flavor. Instead of draining the ground beef, I used the leftover juices and grilled the onions in there first. I pretty much doubled the chili powder for extra chili flavor. I also added sprigs of Rosemary and Thyme. Some brown sugar to sweeten it up a bit. Instead of using the juices from the cans, I drained all chili and added chicken stock accordingly to get the right thickness. Added in some chunks of rib roast, dumped them into bread bowls and had a delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sungminz@gmail.com

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I liked this recipe a lot. I did replace the tomato puree with canned diced tomatoes with chiles which let me omit the hot sauce. It made for a looser chili but I don't like to add hot sauce to my cooking because I feel like it just disappears in the cooking processing. It can be added after it is cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariannedsaint

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Was Great just the way it is no changes needed. I will make this Chili again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Very good recipe. Every once in a while I see someone post that you should not rate a recipe that you made changes to, and I understand that view but I also think that many of us enjoy reading through the changes/variations to get other ideas. I think I will send the idea along to allrecipes.com that we should have 2 ways to rate a recipe - "followed recipe exact" and "changes made" or something like that. Then everyone will be happy, well...not everyone. Anyways, on with my review - this chili came out great, and yes I made some changes. I did not add celery as I'm not a big fan. I used Canellini, Pinto and Black Beans and added a can of diced tomatoes with green chiles. I was concerned as another reviewer posted that the base might be too "tomatoee" but it had fantastic flavor. Thank you for a great chili recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This recipe needs a lot more spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Great Sunday chili. I sub ground turkey for beef (most of the time:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This was a great, easy chili recipe. I added some squash and zucchini I had on hand. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I used venison instead of beef and baked my cornbteaf on top of itit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
delicious! I also just used one can of liquid and no celery and its perfect. I usually dont leave reviews but this one is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 464) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States