Slow Cooker Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This was very good. I tripled the recipe (except the meat - only doubled) based on the large cans of tomato puree I bought and made it with ground turkey. Very filling, meaty and tasty. My son and husband aren't fond of beans and this had a lot of them. Son ate them, husband no so much. Overall I would make this again making it spicier (it is very mild in my opinion). Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I think this is Wendy's fast food recipe! Unoffensive, yet not eye popping. Per other review's comments I didn't add celery (good choice), I added a little extra hot pepper sauce, more chilli powder and half a can of diced jalapeno peppers and felt I could serve it to about anybody (even people who don't do spicy) without a problem, but also wouldn't get a compliment on it. Smother with shredded cheese, a few crunchy onion bits and sour cream and it will feed anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I had a crock pot laying around that had never been used, and it was perfect because I was having a halloween party, in which it was snowing the whole day prior. Made it in the morning, and let it cook throughout the day and came home to my house smelling delicious! I did take other's advice, as I like my chili on the thicker side, and only used about 1/2 of the called for kidney bean liquid, and 1/2 of the cannellini liquid. I replaced: the Kidney Beans with Butter Beans I added: 3/4 can of canned diced tomatoes (1/2drained) 1 can of pre-sliced/peeled potatoes 1/2 tablespoon of chili powder And then once it was all in the pot and stirred, I lightly coated the top with more oregano, parsley, basil, salt, and pepper. The potatoes really added a nice texture to the chili, along with the larger butter beans. I served with cheddar cheese, sour cream, and green onions... The chili was gone within an hour of people showing up to my house! Next time i'll have to invest in a larger crock-pot and double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I've made this 4 times now, and each time I've gotten rave reviews!!! I did make some slight modifications to the origianl 8 serving recipe... - I increased the amount of meat 1/2 lb - Only 1/2 cup of onion - I used garlic powder instead of garlic cloves - 1 can of Kidney beans with juice partially drained - 1 can of Red beans and all the juice - I couldn't find Cannelli beans so I used white beans - 1 can of tomato sauce instead of tomato puree, and 1 can of petite diced tomato with partial juice - Added a little more chili powder... a couple dashes =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
This is a really great basic recipe if you're just learning how to make chili or you don't like spicy chili. My husband and I like it spicy so I added a seeded minced habanero, 1/3 cup chili powder, 1/2 tsp ground cayenne, and 1 tsp cumin. I also added about a tablespoon of salt and a tablespoon of pepper directly to the meat and let it sit for a couple minutes before adding everything else in. I've got a new house favorite now! And I'll stick to the original if I ever do a chili-bar style, so everyone is sure to enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
meaty, hearty and down right yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Great and easy chili, I added some extra chili peppers to spice it up a bit (my hubby loves the spicy stuff), served it with cornbread! Great fall dinner :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Made this yesterday early morning to have for dinner. Weather report was that it was going to be overnight freezing so figured this would hit the spot for dinner. It so did. The best chili I've ever made. Just changed the type of beans I used (didn't want to run to the store), and actually cook it on the stove for about 3 hours and then let it fester the rest of the day there until dinner. Reheated it, and as I said before "IT HIT THE SPOT". This will be my New Chili Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I will admit that this was my very first attempt at Homemade Chili and it was no less than "Fantastic!". I did make some minor changes such as the type of meat used (I don't care for Ground Beef very much) and basically added more of everything than what the recipe called for but all the ingredients listed were there. I am an "Over the Road" truck driver and I have the ability to cook using a "Slow Cooker" so this was perfect for me. With an on board Refrigerator/Freezer I had no trouble storing the left overs AND after reheating it in the Microwave it was thicker and more flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samurai Penguin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
My 2 year old loved this recipe for chili and we did too - added a bit more spice for the adults, but otherwise it is very good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 414) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States