Slow Cooker Chile Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
My family loves this over a bed of brown rice, I tweak it just a bit because we all like it a little hotter. Great today even better tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I had never eaten chile verde before making this last week, but have friends who frequently order it at restaurants so I wanted to give it a shot. I did smoke the pork in an electric smoker for 50 minutes prior to adding it to the slow cooker mixture so that reduced overall cooking time. I used Green Chile Sauce from New Mexico Foods and like other reviewers, also added corn, black beans, smoked paprika and cilantro to the mix. My version may have been far from traditional, but we loved the smoky, earthy flavors in this SUPER EASY chile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiaraontop

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
The best chili verde EVER! I added a few extra chopped fresh jalapeño's, a little more garlic then what it called for and also what the top review suggested to add as well. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Great base. I threw in a handful of white rice to thicken, fresh lime juice and cilantro for depth. Green enchilada sauce is a better fit if you have kids; and cumin is a must. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
My family loved this recipe but I did change a few things. I omitted the jalapeño and substituted the can tomatoes with a can of fire roasted green chiles. it made three different meals and everyone enjoyed. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJWood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I LOVE chile verde and thought I would give this easy recipe a try. It was a bit late in the day to use the crock pot, so I used my dutch oven on the stove top. I let it simmer for a few hours to ensure the meat was tender. The flavor was great! Next time I will allow more cooking time so the meat can get to the tenderness I was looking for. Hey! I know...maybe I'll use the crock pot ;) Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catcassetta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Truly delicious when I followed the advice of other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
yum. made this a few days and it was a huge hit. i used fresh jalapeno by accident and loved it. make sure to drain water from meat after browning. I added cornstarch to thicken it at the end, since it seemed too watery. we ate 8 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Jackson, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I have to confess, I've never eaten "authentic" chile verde, so I don't know how this compares. But just judged on its own merits, this dish is WONDERFUL. Made it today and my husband and I both think it's a keeper -- very tasty, with just the right amount of heat. I read all the reviews and made the additions many people suggested: corn, black beans, cumin, coriander, lime juice, salt and pepper. Also, my grocery didn't have pork shoulder, so I used a pork sirloin roast, which is a leaner cut and probably made it less soupy and/or greasy than what some reviewers described. I'm giving this 4 stars because, if prepared as written (without the additional ingredients), I feel it would have been a little bland for our tastes. But if you're going to be serving it to children, or others who prefer less spice, the original recipe (perhaps with fewer jalapenos) would probably be the better choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
very good. Husband wanted me to make "real" verde by cooking down the tomatillos myself. I didn't have the patience so I tried this one and he loved it and thought it was the "real" thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States