Slow Cooker Chile Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
If you want this to tase like real chile verde, then follow my additions. Be sure to remove the jalapeno addition if you have kids to feed as it will make it to spicy for them. I did not use green salsa, I used green enchilada sauce (La palma), added two shredded, dried New Mexico chiles, 3 cloves of garlic, a can of roasted green chiles, 1/2 TB salt, 1/2 TB cumin, then I added 2 TB cornstarch during the last 30 minutes to thicken the sauce. Be sure to dissolve the cornstarch in cold water, then add to the hot chile verde. If you follow these additions, you'll have authentic chile verde from a slow cooker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
466 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
I would highly suggest replacing the diced tomatoes with stewed tomatillos and adding the following ingredients: corriander, cumin, lime juice, black beans, corn, & cilantro. If nothing else, the tomatillos keep the chile more green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
286 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
The flavor of the meat is outstanding, and it's incredibly tender. Chili Verde is meant to be more than seasoned meat, so expect a *liquidy* product - the sauce is flavorful and has great heat, perfect on rice. The one thing I altered was the slow cooker setting - I just went for 6 hours on low, and the meat was perfectly cooked and tender, I'll be making this again and again - thanks so much for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
I HAD TO RATE THIS AGAIN BECAUSE IT WAS EVEN BETER THE NEXT MEAL WE HAD OUT OF IT. I WAS ACTUALLY ABLE TO MAKE 3 MEALS OUT OF IT. WE HAD CHIMICHANGAS WITH THE PORK, RICE, AND CHEESE FRIED WITH SOME SAUCE POURED ON TOP WITH QUESO FRESCO AND SOURCREAM SO AWESOME. THAN WE SAVED THE SAUCE SINCE WE USED ALL THE MEAT FOR THE CHIMIS AND THE SAUCE IS GREAT WITH EGGS IN A BURRITO WITH CHEESE.tHANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clarissa Esther

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
This was to die for! My husband loved it, my kids loved it, and so did I! I followed the recipe exactly, the meat was so tender, it melted in your mouth. There was a lot of sauce left over, so you could cut down the salsa verde by one can and it wouldn't make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Globe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
Everyone loved this. I used Herdez green chile salsa and diced tomatoes with jalapenos. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
Made this for a potluck and it was delicious and very easy. Served it with sour cream and fresh cilantro to spoon in. Easy to adjust heat with less or more jalapenos. Next time will include some lime juice as one reviewer suggested, and cut back on jalapenos but add some roasted anaheim chilis. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
This was excellent. I cut out one can of the green salsa and there's still lots of liquid. I didn't have any fresh lime on hand so I used bottled lime juice and it was tasty, but fresh would have been so much better! It definitely needed it to brighten the taste. I didn't think it was too spicy at all and will use more jalapenos next time. This made an absolutely delish lunch for work - I love getting excited about my lunch breaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
Awesome! We all loved it! I used two 16oz bottles of salsa verde instead of 5 cans of green salsa, and italian style diced tomatoes. I will definitely make this recipe again. My hubby & I loved it, and my toddler-daughter who usually won't eat meat ate quite a bit of it. It was very easy to make and the pork was so tender! Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMRAKAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I get so tired of reading snarky reviews on this site because a recipe isn't "AUTHENTIC." I, too, prefer green chile from scratch where I roast the chiles myself. But I don't always have time for that, and often need to put a quick, healthy dinner together that the whole family will eat. So I'm grateful when other folks put recipes on here with some shortcuts that make my life easier. Now the review part... this is a delicious, easy recipe. It's good over rice, on breakfast tacos, burritos, or with quesadillas. I left out the jalepenos because I have young children. The green salsa still gave the chile plenty of heat. I added 1 tsp. of cumin, 1/4 tsp. of white pepper, and 2 TBSP. of lime juice (I use those in my from scratch recipe). This recipe works well with chicken if you don't have pork on hand (and, yes, I know the chicken isn't "AUTHENTIC." chile verde). Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States