Slow Cooker Chile Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
MMM-MM Good! After cutting the pork shoulder into 1" cubes, I seasoned it with taco seasoning mix then browned the meat in batches. I also cooked the onions, garlic and tomatillos in the same pan to get all the fond from the bottom of the pan. I served it with cilantro rice --- the end result was great! Thanks for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Used one large can green enchilada sauce, 1 small can green salsa, 1 can green chilis, 1 can diced tomatoes with jalapenos with lime juice, cumin, coriander, salt for sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Yummy dish. I took Donna's advise and added the spices and left out the jalapenos. came out great! I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Made some of the changes suggested by others. Used Green Enchillida sauce (all I had) and my Hubby had 3 helpings. Cooked on high for 4 hours and it was so tender. Ummmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I'm a huge fan of Mexican food... I followed Apr. 22, 2007 by burkeoj 's advice, added corriander, cumin, salt and lime juice. I added more garlic, omitted Jalapeños (kids don't like them) and pour a can of Green Enchilada sauce instead of the green salsa. and replaced Tomatoes for a smal 10 oz can of green chopped tomatillos and added homony! YUM!!! .. I made this yesterday, started at 3pm....Slowed cooked it for 4hrs on high, then switch to low for 2hrs... I couldn't wait any longer and had a little bowl myself...It was AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miraflores, Lima, Peru
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Yummy!!! As a mama of 6, I am always trying new recipes out on my family. I made this last night and it was a HUGE hit! I used Herndz green salsa and stewed tomatoes with jalepenos, and left out the can of jalepnos....that way I still got some heat, but not so much that my little ones wouldn't eat it. I took the advice of others and added corn and black beans. Lastly, once it was all assembled in the crock pot I set it on low for 6 hours (although, if it had been longer before I could get to it, it would have been fine), and it was wonderful. My husband kept picking at it before I could even get it to the table. We served it with rice, tortillas, salad, sourcream and pepperjack cheese. I want to add that this makes a lot, that even with 8 of us eating there were tons of leftovers, very nice. This is one I'll definitely be adding to my family cookbook, THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This was soooo good! Will be making this often. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Ramer-Bozzo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This smelled soooo good but unfortunately was too spicy for my daughter and me. I even omitted the jalapeno's because of my daughters pickiness! Also, I added flour to help thicken it but still felt there was too much liquid. I will definitely make this again with a few changes~mild instead of medium green salsa and less liquid by reducing the number of cans from 5 to 2.5 cans. I will not be adding jalapeno's but canned corn was a nice addition. Garnish with cilantro and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Bashful~
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I did not like this at all. I Like spicy and it was spicy but there just wasn't much flavor in it. It was definitely lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaLeah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Awesome, the whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States