Slow Cooker Chile Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Wasnt impressed really. I cooked on low for 5 hours and the meat was tender. The flavor of the sauce is the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nativeSDgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
My family loved this. I did add a few extra peppers since like things spicy, bbut other then that I follow the recipe exactly. It tastes exactly like you would get at a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DairyQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
My goodness, this was delicious! I followed the recipe pretty close. I used Mexican style stewed tomatoes and I added 2 small cans of green chiles, 1 can of black beans and 1 can of corn. I forgot to get the jalepenos and substituted several good shakes of red chile pepper. Ive never cooked pork shoulder before and the cut I bought had a good sized bone in it. I cubed the meat off of it the best that I could, but the bone still had lots of good meat in and around it. I simply threw the whole bone in with the rest of the meat. I cooked on low for 9 hours and by the time we ate the meat was tender and falling off the bone. MMMmmm good. This recipe will be one I use to impress company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Too liquidy. Less green salsa. Use leaner pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I didn't need as much green sauce. I wrapped in a tortilla with cheese. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
MMM-MM Good! After cutting the pork shoulder into 1" cubes, I seasoned it with taco seasoning mix then browned the meat in batches. I also cooked the onions, garlic and tomatillos in the same pan to get all the fond from the bottom of the pan. I served it with cilantro rice --- the end result was great! Thanks for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Used one large can green enchilada sauce, 1 small can green salsa, 1 can green chilis, 1 can diced tomatoes with jalapenos with lime juice, cumin, coriander, salt for sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Yummy dish. I took Donna's advise and added the spices and left out the jalapenos. came out great! I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Made some of the changes suggested by others. Used Green Enchillida sauce (all I had) and my Hubby had 3 helpings. Cooked on high for 4 hours and it was so tender. Ummmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I'm a huge fan of Mexican food... I followed Apr. 22, 2007 by burkeoj 's advice, added corriander, cumin, salt and lime juice. I added more garlic, omitted Jalapeños (kids don't like them) and pour a can of Green Enchilada sauce instead of the green salsa. and replaced Tomatoes for a smal 10 oz can of green chopped tomatillos and added homony! YUM!!! .. I made this yesterday, started at 3pm....Slowed cooked it for 4hrs on high, then switch to low for 2hrs... I couldn't wait any longer and had a little bowl myself...It was AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miraflores, Lima, Peru
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States