Slow Cooker Chile Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
My goodness, this was delicious! I followed the recipe pretty close. I used Mexican style stewed tomatoes and I added 2 small cans of green chiles, 1 can of black beans and 1 can of corn. I forgot to get the jalepenos and substituted several good shakes of red chile pepper. Ive never cooked pork shoulder before and the cut I bought had a good sized bone in it. I cubed the meat off of it the best that I could, but the bone still had lots of good meat in and around it. I simply threw the whole bone in with the rest of the meat. I cooked on low for 9 hours and by the time we ate the meat was tender and falling off the bone. MMMmmm good. This recipe will be one I use to impress company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Too liquidy. Less green salsa. Use leaner pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I didn't need as much green sauce. I wrapped in a tortilla with cheese. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
MMM-MM Good! After cutting the pork shoulder into 1" cubes, I seasoned it with taco seasoning mix then browned the meat in batches. I also cooked the onions, garlic and tomatillos in the same pan to get all the fond from the bottom of the pan. I served it with cilantro rice --- the end result was great! Thanks for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Used one large can green enchilada sauce, 1 small can green salsa, 1 can green chilis, 1 can diced tomatoes with jalapenos with lime juice, cumin, coriander, salt for sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Yummy dish. I took Donna's advise and added the spices and left out the jalapenos. came out great! I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Made some of the changes suggested by others. Used Green Enchillida sauce (all I had) and my Hubby had 3 helpings. Cooked on high for 4 hours and it was so tender. Ummmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I'm a huge fan of Mexican food... I followed Apr. 22, 2007 by burkeoj 's advice, added corriander, cumin, salt and lime juice. I added more garlic, omitted Jalapeños (kids don't like them) and pour a can of Green Enchilada sauce instead of the green salsa. and replaced Tomatoes for a smal 10 oz can of green chopped tomatillos and added homony! YUM!!! .. I made this yesterday, started at 3pm....Slowed cooked it for 4hrs on high, then switch to low for 2hrs... I couldn't wait any longer and had a little bowl myself...It was AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miraflores, Lima, Peru
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Yummy!!! As a mama of 6, I am always trying new recipes out on my family. I made this last night and it was a HUGE hit! I used Herndz green salsa and stewed tomatoes with jalepenos, and left out the can of jalepnos....that way I still got some heat, but not so much that my little ones wouldn't eat it. I took the advice of others and added corn and black beans. Lastly, once it was all assembled in the crock pot I set it on low for 6 hours (although, if it had been longer before I could get to it, it would have been fine), and it was wonderful. My husband kept picking at it before I could even get it to the table. We served it with rice, tortillas, salad, sourcream and pepperjack cheese. I want to add that this makes a lot, that even with 8 of us eating there were tons of leftovers, very nice. This is one I'll definitely be adding to my family cookbook, THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This was soooo good! Will be making this often. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Ramer-Bozzo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States