Slow Cooker Chile Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I get so tired of reading snarky reviews on this site because a recipe isn't "AUTHENTIC." I, too, prefer green chile from scratch where I roast the chiles myself. But I don't always have time for that, and often need to put a quick, healthy dinner together that the whole family will eat. So I'm grateful when other folks put recipes on here with some shortcuts that make my life easier. Now the review part... this is a delicious, easy recipe. It's good over rice, on breakfast tacos, burritos, or with quesadillas. I left out the jalepenos because I have young children. The green salsa still gave the chile plenty of heat. I added 1 tsp. of cumin, 1/4 tsp. of white pepper, and 2 TBSP. of lime juice (I use those in my from scratch recipe). This recipe works well with chicken if you don't have pork on hand (and, yes, I know the chicken isn't "AUTHENTIC." chile verde). Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This is a very easy recipe to prepare. My husband and I liked it, but my teenage boys didn't. I used rotisserie chicken..it really enhanced the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Caledonia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I really wish I could have given this more stars but I changed the recipe so much I just cant rate it higher. I exchanged the salsa for 1 can of green las palmas sauce and the tomatoes for tomatillios. I also added salt pepper and cumin. But I did LOVE this and am enjoying the leftovers very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Very and easy! I drained some of the juice for burritos and man it was good! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Great recipe. The second time I made it without the tomatoes. My family preferred the second version. Very easy to make and great to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Fantastic....after tweaks. Used pork loin instead of shoulder. Seared before adding to crockpot. Used 3 onions & 10 cloves garlic. Pureed these together & satueed in same pan as the pork, after the pork was done. Added 2 & 1/2 cups chicken broth. Used large fresh tomatoes instead of canned. Added cumin, oregano & sea salt to pot. Broiled 3 poblanos, 2 jalapeno & 2 yellow/green bell peppers. Sweated in a bag. Peeled & pureed with 1 bunch fresh cilantro. All into the pot. On high until good & bubbly. Then down to low & left for 8 hours. Serve over steamed rice & topped w/ a sprinkle of pepperjack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
One of the best green chilies I have eaten. Used Pace Green Salsa (medium)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WhiteRayla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Amazing! I followed the recipe as is and it was great. I didnt have to add anything. Its a bit to spicy for the kids but for adults who love this type of food. This is absolutely perfect. I like that you can use the left over for anything; burritos, chimichangas, or even enchiladas. I will definitely be making this again except I'll add more meat to eat. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elsysgv
Home Town: Asherton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I have been a fan of chilie verde for years and I loved this recipie so much I would rather make it at home than go out and risk it not being as good!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States