Slow Cooker Chile Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Took this for a potluck and it was a hit! I did use 1.5 jars of herdez salsa verde and 1 can of las palmas green enchilada sauce as other suggested. I also added corn and black beans which people thought was weird until they tasted it. I also omitted the canned peppers and used 2 fresh ones along with cilantro. As others also suggested I added taco seasoning to the meat when browning. Have made with and without potatoes and like it both ways. With potatoes makes a good soup. Without makes good burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
This was wonderful! I had it the first night then the next 3 days. I used 2 bottles of La Victoria Thick-n Chunky Salsa Verde medium and I can of rotel.No problem with to much liquid. No jalapenos, but will add next time. I added the corn but not next time. Going camping soon and I'm planning on making this. Easy too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I took this to a party in the slow cooker to keep it warm, and it was a huge hit. Every year during green chili season, I buy roasted chilies. I then peel them and sautee them with onion and garlic and freeze them in zip lock bags for later use. So instead of the cans of green salsa, I used my frozen chilies, onions and garlic for this recipe. I served it with flour tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthwestHiAltCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This was a great recipe. Pretty spicey but we both like hot food. Very easy to make. We used the corn torillas to soak up the juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Super easy with really good flavor for a "non-cooker" like me. I cooked exactly per recipe minus 7 oz of salsa. My notes: I used a 3lb pork shoulder and by the time it all cooked down, it was enough for four moderate to big eaters. The shoulder meat is extremely fatty, so the longer it cooks the less fat is left on the meet (the chile was already cooked at 4 hours, but the cubes still had lots of fat on them.) I served over brown rice with a salad for a quick, tasty and easy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I get so tired of reading snarky reviews on this site because a recipe isn't "AUTHENTIC." I, too, prefer green chile from scratch where I roast the chiles myself. But I don't always have time for that, and often need to put a quick, healthy dinner together that the whole family will eat. So I'm grateful when other folks put recipes on here with some shortcuts that make my life easier. Now the review part... this is a delicious, easy recipe. It's good over rice, on breakfast tacos, burritos, or with quesadillas. I left out the jalepenos because I have young children. The green salsa still gave the chile plenty of heat. I added 1 tsp. of cumin, 1/4 tsp. of white pepper, and 2 TBSP. of lime juice (I use those in my from scratch recipe). This recipe works well with chicken if you don't have pork on hand (and, yes, I know the chicken isn't "AUTHENTIC." chile verde). Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This is a very easy recipe to prepare. My husband and I liked it, but my teenage boys didn't. I used rotisserie chicken..it really enhanced the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Caledonia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I really wish I could have given this more stars but I changed the recipe so much I just cant rate it higher. I exchanged the salsa for 1 can of green las palmas sauce and the tomatoes for tomatillios. I also added salt pepper and cumin. But I did LOVE this and am enjoying the leftovers very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Very and easy! I drained some of the juice for burritos and man it was good! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Great recipe. The second time I made it without the tomatoes. My family preferred the second version. Very easy to make and great to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States