Slow Cooker Chile Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I have to confess, I've never eaten "authentic" chile verde, so I don't know how this compares. But just judged on its own merits, this dish is WONDERFUL. Made it today and my husband and I both think it's a keeper -- very tasty, with just the right amount of heat. I read all the reviews and made the additions many people suggested: corn, black beans, cumin, coriander, lime juice, salt and pepper. Also, my grocery didn't have pork shoulder, so I used a pork sirloin roast, which is a leaner cut and probably made it less soupy and/or greasy than what some reviewers described. I'm giving this 4 stars because, if prepared as written (without the additional ingredients), I feel it would have been a little bland for our tastes. But if you're going to be serving it to children, or others who prefer less spice, the original recipe (perhaps with fewer jalapenos) would probably be the better choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
very good. Husband wanted me to make "real" verde by cooking down the tomatillos myself. I didn't have the patience so I tried this one and he loved it and thought it was the "real" thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Colors and flavorings are amazing; added a few ingredients for heartiness like chopped green chilis, chopped green jalepeno, friholes negros, corn, cumin, and lime juice for a bright, refereshing soup or topping for any other entre. This recipe will be a staple in my regular repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This came out great! I couldn't find stewed tomatillos as one reviewer said to use so I just followed the recipe. It was so yummy and the meat was so tender. This makes a lot so I ended up freezing a good portion of it for a later "lazy day" dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay McDonald

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This recipe was really good! My husband and I enjoyed it. I scaled the recipe down to 4 servings. I used rotel for the canned tomatoes and thats the only change I made. We put the mixture in burritos and poured more of the sauce over the top with some cheese. So good! I will be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
The family loved this. I did not change anything like other continue to do. It is a good recipe. I will do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffiny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Riverbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
This was so good! It was the perfect amount of spice! Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
It was good! I eliminated the can of tomatoes; wish I had a can of tomatillos to throw in. Added a can of dices green chilies and another can of diced jalapenos because we like it spicy in my house. Needed salt. I'll probably follow reviewer Donna's recipe next time just to see. I've been a bit spoiled; my grammies and aunties make the best chili verde I've ever had, but I now live in a different state and haven't been able to recreate it without them, so I'm looking for new! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilmisjaqui

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
This is a great recipe, I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States