Slow Cooker Chile Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I made this again using chicken instead and it was perfect. The heat was just right for me. I followed the recipe exactly other than to change the meat and added corn and black beans. My company loved it! The first time i made it with pork i didn't like it as much but it may have been the cut of meat i got. It was way to greasy.You can't go wrong with b/s-less chicken breasts though and definitly try it with black beans and corn. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This was a very helpful recipe. I did minor adjustments, the biggest one being that I used beef instead of pork. I also added the cumin, red pepper flakes, and used fresh peppers. This was actually my first "real" dish I've ever prepared and it came out fantastic. My husband was shocked in amazement that I cooked for him! It was perfectly spicy and just wonderful. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetracee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This was good. But, I agree with the others.. reduce the amount of salsa. Also, its a MUST to add black beans, corn, lime, and cilantro (without these ingredients, it'd be bland)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Very good. This is supposed to be a bit soupe, it is a version og "Guisado". Use one less can of salsa, add black beans, mexicorn, cumin, corriander, and cilantro. Use the jalapenos at your discretion. You can always add more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
This was absolutely delicious!! I did add some lime juice and cilantro per another person's review, but otherwise made no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
This was very good. The meat was very tender after 6 hours on low and the flavor was great. If I didn't have to make it for my children, I would've put in more heat (my preference). The only thing that I had a problem with was that it was too soupy. That may have been because I had to modify somewhat since I didn't have any green salsa - I only had one can of green enchilada sauce. I also added a can of black beans. But I can't imagine that adding 4 more cans of sauce would've made it any less soupy, just more green. I ended up putting a little cornstarch in it to thicken it up while I continued to cook it with the lid off. I paired it with Best Spanish Rice (from this website). I'll probably make this again but play with it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Best ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AXCEL858
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I've made this recipe quite a few time and we love it. I leave out the jalapenos because the salsa I use is spicy enough for us. I made it again today and didn't read the recipe. I forgot to brown the meat and add onion and it was still delicious (and even easier). I should also add that I have no idea what kind of pork I used since it was pre-cut and just called "pork stew" meat. That might make a difference as to whether you have to brown the meat or not. I love recipes that I can't screw up no matter how hard I try. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
I did not enjoy this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
The flavor of the meat is outstanding, and it's incredibly tender. Chili Verde is meant to be more than seasoned meat, so expect a *liquidy* product - the sauce is flavorful and has great heat, perfect on rice. The one thing I altered was the slow cooker setting - I just went for 6 hours on low, and the meat was perfectly cooked and tender, I'll be making this again and again - thanks so much for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States