Slow Cooker Chile Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Probably the best recipe on this site. Follow recipe to the letter and you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
great recipe. we will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hillarie Grider-Richards

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I used mild green salsa (from trader joes)the second time I cooked this and took the lid off the slow cooker after 4 hours and allowed it to cook another couple hours which made it a bit thicker consistency. Wrapped it in tortillas with a little mexican cheese and my husband LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
We love this recipe served over rice, with warm flour tortillas on the side to use as "bread." We add sour cream to cut the spiciness a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Great recipe! To thicken it, crush up some tortilla chips and add to finished stew. It will not change the flavor. Instead of canned peppers, I sauted super cayanne peppers with the onion and garlic. Wonderful spice and flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mounds View, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Great flavor. This was so easy and good. The only changes made were I used 1 1/2 cup Herdez green salsa and I used the Rotel tomoates with jalenpeno instead of adding jalepeno to the can of diced tomatoes. I left it in the slow cooker on low for about 10 hours. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
My family loved this! I used La Victoria salsa verde, medium hot, RoTel mexican diced tomatoes with lime juice & cilantro, and skipped the jalapenos. I also sprinkled about 2 Tbsp of flour on the pork after browning. My husband says this is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
If you want this to tase like real chile verde, then follow my additions. Be sure to remove the jalapeno addition if you have kids to feed as it will make it to spicy for them. I did not use green salsa, I used green enchilada sauce (La palma), added two shredded, dried New Mexico chiles, 3 cloves of garlic, a can of roasted green chiles, 1/2 TB salt, 1/2 TB cumin, then I added 2 TB cornstarch during the last 30 minutes to thicken the sauce. Be sure to dissolve the cornstarch in cold water, then add to the hot chile verde. If you follow these additions, you'll have authentic chile verde from a slow cooker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
507 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sumchelle
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Nuts to my family... This was right up my alley. First off, I skipped the whole "browning" process. Simply chopped up the meat, and threw it in the crock pot. Then, I dumped in 2 - 16 oz LA PREFERIDA Salsa Verde (Medium), Penzey's Chicken Taco Seasoning, Garlic powder, chopped onion, lime juice, 1/4 can of black beans, diced tomatoes with chiles, corn and cilantro. I did, however, skip the jalapenos because I thought my kids were gonna eat this... They didn't. Nice heat regardless. I didn't make anything to go along with it - just ate it plain, lapping up every last drop of the delicious broth it left behind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States