Slow Cooker Chile Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
This taste awesome and has a good amount of heat. Great over rice, our on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I'm rating this based on the modifacations I made. I couldn't find fresh jalapenos or fresh tomatillos so I used the canned version of both which, I realised, made the whole thing turn vinegary and weird. Also, I cooked the recipe on high for 4 hours instead of low for 6-7 hours and it after those 4 hours the meat was hard as a rock. Hoping to get the vinegar to evaporate a little and to get the meat to tenderize, I let it simmer on low overnight (7 hours) and it looked and smelled ok this morning and meat is like butter. So after 11 hours of cooking, I'm still a bit skeptical about the finished product, but I must admit, I really messed it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fleur de lys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Quebec, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This was a great recipe for a hearty, family meal. Ours came out a little on the spicey side but was still super yummy and the pork was very tender. Next time I'll make sure to use mild salsa and just a regular can of tomatoes and probably leave out the jalapeno entirely. The following are the changes I made: -used two jars of verde salsa (16 oz each) rather than canned salsa -added one can of drained black beans -added one can of drained mexicorn -used one can of diced tomatoes with jalapenos in place of the canned jalapeno and can of tomatoes -cooked the mixture on high for an hour, then on low for 8 hours (while at work) then put it back on high for another hour while I made corn bread added about 3 Tbsp of chopped cilantro added about 2 tsp of cumin I could never have imagined that pork in chili could be so good or that green salsa could make such an excellent base for chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenelle D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This was pretty good. The meat was pretty fatty so I might get a better cut next time. Really good served with warm tortillas. I also added black beans, corn, cumin, and coriander as recommended by some previous reviews. I also used much less jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Awesome flavor, quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I get request for this at family get togethers. I have yet to have left overs on this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I made this again using chicken instead and it was perfect. The heat was just right for me. I followed the recipe exactly other than to change the meat and added corn and black beans. My company loved it! The first time i made it with pork i didn't like it as much but it may have been the cut of meat i got. It was way to greasy.You can't go wrong with b/s-less chicken breasts though and definitly try it with black beans and corn. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This was a very helpful recipe. I did minor adjustments, the biggest one being that I used beef instead of pork. I also added the cumin, red pepper flakes, and used fresh peppers. This was actually my first "real" dish I've ever prepared and it came out fantastic. My husband was shocked in amazement that I cooked for him! It was perfectly spicy and just wonderful. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetracee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This was good. But, I agree with the others.. reduce the amount of salsa. Also, its a MUST to add black beans, corn, lime, and cilantro (without these ingredients, it'd be bland)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Very good. This is supposed to be a bit soupe, it is a version og "Guisado". Use one less can of salsa, add black beans, mexicorn, cumin, corriander, and cilantro. Use the jalapenos at your discretion. You can always add more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States