Slow Cooker Chile Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Superb. We skipped a lot of steps, just cut up a boneless pork roast from Costco and threw it in a crock pot with everything else. It sat overnight and in the morning we just put it on low and went to work. It cooked about 9 hours on low and was very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
4/15/11 I have made this recipe more times than I can count and I think I have gotten at least 10 people hooked on it! My co-worker's husband thinks I'm the best cook EVER! hahaha! I do add black beans (homemade or canned that have been drained & RINSED) at the start and corn (frozen or canned) for the last hour or so. Versatile, easy and delicious, no matter how you modify it! This recipe is right on the mark and super easy. I did not change the ingredients but opted to use fresh (jalepeno) or homemade (green sauce) ingredients as much as possible. I feel that I have more control over the sodium/fat content that way. Just a note: There is a difference in "Green Sauce" and a green salsa. You can substitute with the salsa, but it would be best to change to a green enchilada sauce instead. Otherwise, if you're going to use salsa, run it through your blender so it is completely smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Great chile verde recipe. I didn't change any of the ingredients and it was perfect! I am at work during the day so I couldn't change the temperature mid-way through as suggested. I used the low setting for 7.5 hours and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
My family loves this recipe! It's so easy and so delicious. What I also enjoy is that you can serve it various ways. We use tortillas as a side with it so we can use them to scoop up every drop. We've also enjoyed this with rice and with fajitas. It has a spicy but tangy flavor that I can't get enough of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colcord, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Mount Hope, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I have set aside my long cooking, fairly complicated chile verde recipe for this wonderful rendition. After reading others' comments, and needing to double the recipe, I opted for half Hernandez salsa and half store brand salsa verde. Please, please don't tell anyone how easy this is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Discovery Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Probably the best recipe on this site. Follow recipe to the letter and you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
great recipe. we will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hillarie Grider-Richards

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I used mild green salsa (from trader joes)the second time I cooked this and took the lid off the slow cooker after 4 hours and allowed it to cook another couple hours which made it a bit thicker consistency. Wrapped it in tortillas with a little mexican cheese and my husband LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
We love this recipe served over rice, with warm flour tortillas on the side to use as "bread." We add sour cream to cut the spiciness a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States