Slow Cooker Chicken with Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Great idea! This recipe is so easy to make. I prefer cream of mushroom soup, but either would work very well. If you want to spiff it up a bit, you can add diced onions, and celery to the bottom of the crock, put the chicken on top of the vegetables, pour in the combined liquid over the chicken, and put the stuffing mix on top. I use Mrs. Cubbison's stuffing mix (16oz), but it still works great. After cooking the stuffing on top, you can pull out the chicken and stir the stuffing into the liquid. I work away from the home so I had to slow cook on low for the day and the chicken has great flavor, but ends up as shredded chicken after 10 hours. Luckily, my family love it. We all give it 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph Laplante

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
This is a good base recipe. I used wine instead of water and added spices. A lot of recipes on this site seem to leave out seasoning! I will not cook anything without them. I added garlic salt, pepper, oregano, parsley, and cayenne pepper to spice this up. I also added some chopped onion. My husband really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I was disappointed with this recipe. The soup and stuffing made for a very salty combination. Requires low sodium ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
When I mixed the 6 oz. Stuffing mix (Chicken Stove Top) with the soup and water I was concerned it may be a little dry so I mixed in about half of the broth to that mix instead of in the bottom of the cooker with the chicken. It was pretty good! I'm not certain if my alteration was truly needed. I used cream of chicken mushroom soup as I didn't have plain chicken on hand. I will probably make this easy meal again. Next time I might play around and add cranberries, mushrooms, celery and serve the chicken with steamed broccoli and a small portion of the dressing for a healthy meal. Thanks Beth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Faribault, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rizzle2008
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I tried this recipe for the first time and it was quite easy and tasteful. I read the reviews before starting and I decided to dice up celery and onions and add to the bottom of the crock pot. I added the chicken breasts and seasoned with garlic salt, minced onion flakes and pepper. I combined the 2 liquid ingredients and then added the stuffing mix and poured over the chicken breasts. I cooked the mixture on low for 8 hours and the chicken was done but slightly shredded, however it tasted good for a 5 minute preparation! I can not complain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rizzle2008
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
We liked this recipe. I used 2 very large breasts so I used 2/3 cup chicken broth and 1/3 cup water and that made plenty liquid. I made as the recipe states but next time would use seasonings on the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Made this recently- added chopped celery and sliced carrots to the bottom of the crock pot before adding the chicken as other reviewers suggested. Used 4 chicken breasts, and we ate this several times during the week, it made alot! Also, I cooked it on high for 4 hours instead of on low. Worked great. Hubby even scooped some over some left over spaghetti and took it to work for his lunch. The next day I did the same- sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberliah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I substituted chicken broth for the water and also sprinkled the chicken breasts with some Lawry's Seasoned Salt. It was EXCELLENT! Very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Made this tonight. Very easy to get going and tasted satisfying. I followed all steps in recipe, but did sprinkle poultry and Italian seasonings over top of my chicken before the stuffing mixture. Also used all chicken broth, no water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I loved this so much I tried again. This time I put a bag of frozen vegetables on the bottom. Used Chicken legs instead of breast (all had on hand) sprinkled the chicken with chicken seasoning, put all liquid in then placed stuffing on top and mixed together at end. Came out perfect! Only took 4 hours on high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

See how to make an incredibly simple chicken stroganoff in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States